State government offices in almost half of Louisiana’s 64 parishes will be closed a second day because of the flood emergency.

Commissioner of Administration Jay Dardenne said state offices will be closed Tuesday in 27 parishes. The same offices are closed Monday as well.

State government offices will be closed in Acadia, Ascension, Assumption, Beauregard, Cameron, Calcasieu, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Vernon, Vermilion, Washington, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes.

Essential personnel not dealing with personal flood damage or helping others were asked by Dardenne to contact their supervisors.

Agency heads will determine which employees need to remain on duty and those who should report to alternate work sites.

State employees can phone (800) 360-9660 or (225) 342-0498 for updated information.

Follow Mark Ballard on Twitter, @MarkBallardCnb.