Friday, February 17, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017

So, the other day I was sitting, talking with a co-worker about stuff on the job. If you have to know, I work at the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. You get the idea from the name alone what this office all about.

Friday, January 20, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Friday, January 06, 2017
Saturday, December 31, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Friday, December 09, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Friday, November 04, 2016
  • +2

I was standing in a long, snaking line on Monday morning preparing to “early vote” at the Secretary of State’s office. There is little doubt that the candidates for president — Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump —were driving the rapidly growing line.

Friday, October 28, 2016

Last Saturday, I sat with friends enjoying great food, adult beverages and interesting conversation at our tailgate in the hours leading up to Southern University’s homecoming football game. As you know, homecoming is that one game that is suppose…

Friday, October 21, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Friday, October 07, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016

I was at the foot of my driveway talking to an electrician on Wednesday evening about an idea I had about adding a couple electrical outlets to the exterior of my house. I wanted a place to plug in my generator.

Friday, September 02, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Friday, August 05, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016

I continue to watch the video of the Baton Rouge police officers on top of a prone and struggling Alton Sterling. I heard the word “gun” and then gunshots. One. Then two. Then three. Then four. All at can’t-miss range into Sterling’s body.

Saturday, July 09, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016

I was sitting in a big, Dallas-area civic center last Saturday as nearly 500 young men and women walked in neat lines in their graduation caps and gowns. It was a ceremony I have witnessed many times over the years.

Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 03, 2016
Sunday, May 01, 2016
Saturday, April 23, 2016
Saturday, April 09, 2016
Sunday, April 03, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Sunday, March 20, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016

This is election day. I sincerely hope you will go out and vote if you have not done so already. This might sound cheesy, but I still buy into the notion that too many people died or were maimed for me to have the right to vote for me not to vote …

And there he was, the president of the United States, walking into the gymnasium at my old high school. That’s right, Barack Obama, the leader of the free world, was at McKinley High School this week in the middle of a cheering audience.

Sometimes, my grandmother and a few of the neighbor women would sit on our front porch in the evenings talking about all kinds of stuff until it was dark enough to see the lightning bugs. While most of their chatter meant little to me, I liked whe…

Polite Stewart Jr. and I had a big laugh the other day after I said to him, “So I take it from what you’re saying, you’ve been goofing off for the past three years. You need to focus on what you want to do in life.”

For many years, my wife and I would take the drive to her mother’s house in Delhi, a small town in rural northeast Louisiana. On the route, there were three houses side by side on La. 28 in a little town called Crowville that also would catch our …