Friday, September 30, 2016

When the partisan Capitol Hill battle over the budget stalled much-needed aid to flood victims in Louisiana, we were rightly upset with the delay, though we're happy, of course, that Congress has now agreed to a "down payment" of some $500 million…

Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016

As fresh debates over free speech heat up at LSU, maybe it’s time for everyone to remember that the root word of “university” is "universe," stemming from the ideal of giving students the world.

Saturday, September 24, 2016

In a scriptural story passed down through the ages, a handful of fishermen without special title or authority find themselves called to be fishers of men. The story resonates among believers and nonbelievers alike because it speaks to a fundamenta…

Friday, September 23, 2016

A controversial police shooting of a black man in Charlotte, North Carolina and the unrest it’s prompted throughout the city are a potent reminder that Louisiana is far from alone in dealing with tensions between black citizens and law enforcement…

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Long before the Cajun Navy hauled last month’s Louisiana flood victims to safety — and even before Hurricane Katrina inspired similar heroism — another volunteer flotilla helped rescue scores of people stranded by rising waters.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

While Louisiana is making progress in its insurance coverage gap with the expansion of Medicaid for the working poor, is there going to be a health services gap?

Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016

One of the country's biggest disasters of this decade is another blow to Louisiana's financial health, as households will struggle to recover and government revenues will face new pressures.

Sunday, September 18, 2016
Saturday, September 17, 2016

After suffering the worst American natural disaster since Superstorm Sandy, Louisiana needs extra federal recovery help that only Congress can approve. If more members of Congress visited Louisiana and saw the damage from last month’s historic flo…

Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016

The story goes that the Emperor Napoleon wanted trees to shade the roads that his troops would march along. His engineers protested that it would take decades for the trees to grow enough to provide shade.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

A fight between Democratic Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards and Republican Attorney General Jeff Landry over the handling of lawsuits against energy companies might make great political theater, but the dispute involves serious public policy questi…

Monday, September 12, 2016

While he’s not physically bringing a check back home, Gov. John Bel Edwards and the state’s delegation in Congress have achieved a significantly higher level of federal support to cover the costs of flood damages to public roads and buildings.

Sunday, September 11, 2016

After a summer of so much sadness, we’re tempted not to dwell too much on today’s solemn date, the 15th anniversary of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks against the United States. But obligation compels those of us who can remember to do so…

Saturday, September 10, 2016
Friday, September 09, 2016

Jails exist for a reason, and we want as many dangerous criminals there as law enforcement and catch and convict. But the high costs of jailing inmates, often guilty of nonviolent crimes and drug offenses, is a legitimate place to look for savings…

Thursday, September 08, 2016
Wednesday, September 07, 2016
Sunday, September 04, 2016
Saturday, September 03, 2016

The formal beginning of the campaign season is Labor Day, or at least that used to be the case. Now after months of presidential campaigning, the main focus of much political coverage, the shrill national agony is going to be multiplied at the nat…

Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016

This month’s devastating floods in south Louisiana served up a sobering reminder that bad luck isn’t distributed evenly. A little more than a decade after Hurricane Katrina, the state is facing another major recovery, a turn of events that seems c…

Monday, August 29, 2016
Sunday, August 28, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016

While it's a slower-moving catastrophe than Louisiana has experienced lately, the staggeringly bad financial condition of the state of Louisiana is now official: A report to the joint House and Senate budget committee of the Legislature quantified…

Sunday, August 21, 2016
Saturday, August 20, 2016

We welcome the news that President Barack Obama has scheduled a trip to flood-ravaged Louisiana for Tuesday. We've argued that such a visit can be an important demonstration of the nation's resolve to answer the worst American disaster since Super…

Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016

In south Louisiana, we live with lumps in the throat these days – floods of emotion that rise up from the chest like a cresting current, sometimes spilling over into tears. We’re weepy, of course, because of the even bigger flood that’s ravaged th…

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Saturday, August 13, 2016

Although the start of a school year rarely prompts cheers from youngsters, in Baton Rouge the return of reassuring routine brings with it a mild sense of relief. After a violent summer, the city seems ready to embrace autumn, hoping for a turn of …

After a summer defined by debate about the role of those charged with our public safety, this week’s rain and flooding across south Louisiana reminded everyone of the good work that first responders do in helping keep communities safe.

Friday, August 12, 2016

A summer of violence in Baton Rouge has stirred a torrent of emotions here and across the country, the natural response to tragedies that continue to resonate in the hearts and minds of those of us still dealing with the aftermath. Those emotions …

Thursday, August 11, 2016