Mary Chauvin, a senior at Hammond High, birdied the last two holes at English Turn in New Orleans to capture the Louisiana Women’s Golf Association Amateur Championship with a 1-up victory over Abbey Daniel of Covington.

Daniel, a sophomore at Archbishop Hannan, won medalist honors in stroke play qualifying with a 2-over-par 74.

Chauvin won the LHSAA Division I title the past two years and has represented Louisiana on the past four years on the LWGA Junior Tri-State teams.

Daniel won the 2015 LWGA junior girls championship, the 2016 LHSAA Division II title and has been a member of two Louisiana Girls Tri-State teams.

PELICAN POINT PARENT-CHILD WINNERS NAMED: The team of Jude and Cole Hasse won the juniors 10-and-under title in the Parent-Child golf event at Pelican Point.

Chuck Rouselle and Will Baker tied for second with Nick and Nicholas Aquilina in the juniors division.

The teams of Brent and Marginy Broussard and Coby and Caden Comardelle shared the juniors 13-15-year-old title.

Both division played nine holes on the GGR course.

WAGUESPACK-BRAUD, FREDERIC-WADDELL TEAMS WIN TOURNAMENT: The team of Mike Waguespack and Chad Braud had the top gross score in the championship flight of the MGA Modified Best Ball tourmament at Pelican Point on Saturday. The team of Tony Frederic and Clay Waddell had the first-place net score in the championship flight.

Malcolm Dugas and Paul Castro had the second-place gross score, and Will Hall and Dino Viera had the second-place net score in the championship flight.

In the first flight, Ken Cook and Rusty Tucker had the top gross score, and Miles Holley and Brady Landry had the first-place net score. Guy Schexnaydre and Kevin Harrison had the second-place gross score, while Ricky Carter and Steve Martin had the second-place net score.

Chester Campbell and Sam Decoteau had the first-place gross score, and Glenn Schexnayder and Ronnie Walker had the top net score in the second flight. Vijay Kotian and Skipper McInnis had the second-place gross score, and Joe O’Banion and Doyle Philippe had the second-place net score.

HEINE TEAM WINS FATHER/CHILD SCRAMBLE: The team of Randall and Anna Heine fired an 11-under par 61 to win the Father/Child Scramble at the LSU Golf Course.

Brad and Warren Womack shot a 63 to finish second in the championship flight, while Martin and Bill Poche were third in the championship flight with a 65.

Mickey and Trey Bordelon (67) won the first flight, followed by Mike and Mike Duher (67), followed by Roger and Danny Oliver (67).

Second-flight winners were Gary and Jonathan Sellers (68), followed by Rick and Emily Hagan (69) and Rene and Dallas Wright (69).

PELICAN POINT WEDNESDAY SCRAMBLE WINNERS NAMED: The team of David Cliburn, Robbie Cliburn, Rusty Tucker and David DeRoner won last week’s Wednesday Scramble winners at Pelican Point.

Chuck Fairchild, Maria Fairchild, Chester Campbell and Skipper McInnis took second.

BRWIGA PLAY DAY WINNERS NAMED: The team of Aaron Bourque, Janell Waguespack and Emmie Denham won the BRWIGA Play Day at Pelican Point.

Brenda Mayer, Thelma Price and Pat O’Neal-Moergeli finished second, while Cheryl Neu, Jacquelyne Jannek and Debra Smith took third.

Patsy Picard, Patti Nelson and Lillian Loupe finished fourth.


PERTUIT WINS TOURNAMENT: Pat Pertuit of Marrero went 5-0 to win the Class A and tournament championships in the National Horseshoe Pitchers Foundation Memorial Fundraiser on Saturday at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Morgan City’s Al Dodson finished second, while Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista was third.

Sharla Fontenot of Lacassine went 7-0 to take the Class B title, while Cheryl Matt of Lake Charles was second and Dale Pearce of Bayou Vista third.

Tim Hayles of Berwick won the Class C title, followed by Mack Thibodeaux of Lake Arthur and Larry Pertuit of Marrero.

In Class D, Patterson’s Travis Bourdier defeated Ruby Navarre of Carlisle in a 40-shoe playoff for his first class championship. Julius Lovell of Bayou L’Ourse was third.