Six players from District 6-4A are part of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State team.

Two specialists, kicker Jacob Barnes of Woodlawn and punter Codi Willis of Plaquemine, are part of the group that also includes linebacker Cole Mayet of Parkview Baptist, Tara offensive lineman Prince Pines, Plaquemine running back Wayne Toussant and Woodlawn safety Xavier Lodge.

State champion Karr and runner-up Lakeshore claimed the top honors. Lakeshore quarterback Chris Penton was selected as the Offensive Most Valuable Player. Penton passed for 3,790 yards with 43 touchdowns and threw just five interceptions.

Warren Easton defensive back Damien Tate was the Defensive Most Valuable Player. Tate had 62 total tackles (25 solo) with seven pass breakups, but he picked six interceptions with one returned for a touchdown. Lakeshore’s Craig Jones was named Coach of the Year. The Titans won their first 14 games.

Mayet, the 6-4A Defensive MVP, had 97.5 tackles with 17.5 sacks and eight tackles for loss. Toussant, the 6-4A Offensive MVP, rushed for 866 yards and 11 TDs and also had 29 catches for 526 yards and six TDs.

Barnes made all of his PATs and was 6 of 11 on field goals with a long of 48 yards. Also, 47 of his 49 kickoffs were touchbacks. Willis averaged 43.4 yards with a total of 32 punts, including a long of 61.

Pines paved the way for a 1,500 rusher, while Lodge finished with 62 tackles, 19 assists and seven tackles for loss.

LSWA Football All-State Class 4A Chart


Position Name School Ht. Wt. Class

WR Lawrence Keys McDonogh (35) 5-11 160 Sr.

WR Jacob Bernard Lakeshore 5-11 188 Jr.

WR Lacedric Smith Northwood 5-10 165 Sr.

OL Devin Phillips Neville 6-3 305 Sr.

OL Lemar Johns Karr 5-11 250 Sr.

OL Prince Pines Tara 6-5 320 Sr.

OL Thomas Perry Teurlings 6-7 320 Jr.

OL Josh Simmons Benton 6-3 275 Sr.

QB Chris Penton Lakeshore 5-10 185 Sr.

RB Wayne Toussant Plaquemine 5-9 165 Sr.

RB Trivensky Mosley Woodlawn-SH 5-11 190 Sr.

RB Trent Winbush Rayne 6-0 185 Sr.

PK Jacob Barnes Woodlawn-BR 5-9 160 Jr.

ATH Skyler Perry Karr 6-3 200 Sr.


Position Name School Ht. Wt. Class

DL Anthony Freeman Neville 6-1 225 Sr.

DL Jamier Jackson Karr 6-2 225 Sr.

DL Tylan Driver Lakeshore 6-2 290 Sr.

DL Sam Greenwood St. Thomas More 5-10 236 Sr.

LB Jeremy Hudson Salmen 6-1 230 Sr.

LB Detavius Eldridge Tioga 6-2 225 Sr.

LB Cole Mayet Parkview Baptist 5-11 200 Sr.

LB Paul Laborde St. Thomas More5-10 197 Sr.

DB Damien Tate Warren Easton 6-0 182 Sr.

DB Joe Foucha McDonogh 35 6-0 190 Sr.

DB Jayvion Mitchell St. Martinville 5-11 170 Sr.

DB Xavier Lodge Woodlawn-BR 5-11 180 Sr.

P Codi Willis Plaquemine 6-2 220 Sr.

KR Brandon Legendre E.D. White 5-10 185 Jr,



COACH OF THE YEAR: Craig Jones, Lakeshore

Honorable mention: Jamire Mott, Ellender; Chad Cheramie, South Lafourche; Aaron Benfield, E.D. White Catholic; Nik Shanklin, E.D. White Catholic; Andrew Robison, Vandebilt Catholic; Brennan Rogers, Vandebilt Catholic, Ernest Adams, Assumption; Hayes Domingue, Assumption; Shawn Hill, Assumption; Sawyer Cranford, Northwood; D’Treyveon Williams, Woodlawn; Sirquan Hawkins, Bastrop; Jalen Willis, Lakeshore; Maguire Parker, North DeSoto; Kaleb Carter, Cecilia; Hunter Domangue. E.D. White; Matthew Anderson, Leesville; Hunter Ducbroc, Buckeye; Benji Stansell, Parkview Baptist; Tyler Carriere, Rayne; Landon Burton, St. Thomas More; Ahmad Antoine, Karr; Andrew Croker, Leesville; Ro’Dara Ellis, Grant; Travien Benjamin, St. Martinville; Quarterius Hawkins, Bastrop; Chris Vargas, Leesville; Tanner Olivier, Cecilia; Sedrick Williams, Ellender; Evan Chaney, Parkview Baptist; Brandon Gannon, St. Thomas More; Marlon Young, Opelousas; Matt Pajinag, Leesville; Collin Desandro, E.D. White; Oscar Alexander, Cecilia; McKenzie Jackson, Leesville; Jordan Servat, E.D. White; Kerrick Alexander, Cecilia; Javien Mitchell, St. Martinville; LJ Leonard, Salmen; Tory Carmen, Buckeye; Darien Harmon, Rayne; LeJohn Howard, McDonogh 35; Lance LeGendre, Warren Easton; Ronnie Jackson, Karr; Antonio Joseph, Riverdale; Eddie Tillman, McDonogh 35; Sheldon ‘Sticks’ Jones, Warren Easton; Tyree Jones, Karr; Brennan Lanclos, Lakeshore; DeRon Mack, McDonogh 35; Isiah Sanders, Belle Chasse; Gregory Clayton, Lutcher; Alex Aucoin, Parkview Baptist; Ronell Burbank, Karr; Jeffrey ‘Bubble Gum’ Holmes, Warren Easton; Glen Brown, McDonogh 35; Michael Gautier, Lakeshore; Eddie Smith, Salmen.