NEW HAVEN, Conn. — The second-seeded LSU men’s golf team put together a furious comeback on Saturday at the New Have Regional to edge Iowa and N.C. State by one stroke and qualify for the NCAA Championships.

LSU, which finished third at the 2014 championship, finished at 9-over-par 849 and will join 29 teams at Concession Golf Club in Sarasota, Fla., for a shot at the 2015 title. Four rounds of stroke play will begin May 29 before an eight-team bracket is formed to determine the champion in match play on June 2-3.

It is the fifth time in six seasons the Tigers will tee off at the NCAA Championships.

Brandon Pierce and Ben Taylor each shot 5-under 65s, as Pierce had five birdies on the Tigers’ second nine holes (the front nine), while Taylor birdied Nos. 7 and 9 to push the Tigers ahead of N.C. State and Iowa and inside the cut line. LSU’s remaining three players — Stewart Jolly, Zach Wright and Eric Ricard — each shot 1-under 69 on Saturday to help complete the comeback.

The Tigers passed five teams and made up 16 strokes on N.C. State, which shot 4-over Saturday.

South Florida (14-under), San Diego State (even), Oklahoma State (2-over) and Vanderbilt (4-over) also advanced from the New Haven Regional.

Oklahoma State’s Jordan Niebrugge fired a 1-under 69 in the final round to capture the individual title with a winning score of 7-under par 203. Vanderbilt’s Matthias Schwab, Ohio State’s Addison Coll and Troy’s Tolver Dozier followed in a tie for second place at 4-under par 206.