RALEIGH, N.C. — The seventh-ranked LSU women’s golf team opens play Thursday in the NCAA Raleigh regional at the Lonnie Poole Golf Course at NC State.

For the first time since the expansion of regionals from two to three in 2001, there are four women’s golf regionals that begin Thursday that will advance teams to the NCAA championships May 22-27 in Bradenton, Florida.

A total of 24 teams will still advance, as has been the norm, but now instead of eight teams from three regionals, six teams will advance from each of the four events. The other regionals are in San Antonio; South Bend, Indiana; and St. George, Utah.

For the Lady Tigers, the second seed in the Raleigh regional, the goal is to get to the national championships for the first time since 2012.

Joining LSU in the regonal are No. 1 seed South Carolina, Mississippi State, Northwestern, Florida, Central Florida, Furman, Alabama, Iowa State, Ohio State, NC State, Georgia Regents University Augusta, Coastal Carolina, Campbell, Charleston, Seton Hall, Wichita State and Fairleigh Dickinson.

The Lady Tigers have had one of their most productive seasons with three wins and a five-tournament run to close the regular season in which LSU finished 1-2-1-2-1 with wins at The Alamo in San Antonio, the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate and the LSU Tiger Golf Classic. It marked the first time LSU has won multiple tournaments in a season since 2012.

LSU is making its 21st appearance in the 23 years since the NCAA regionals were established in 1993.

The Tigers are led by Southeastern Conference player of the year Madelene Sagstrom, who finished third in the SEC championships at 5-under-par 211. Sagstrom leads the SEC with a 71.07 stroke average and is ranked No. 2 in the nation in the Golfstat and Golfweek performance charts.

Caroline Nistrup was also on the All-SEC first team with a 72.30 average. Elise Bradley was second-team All-SEC.

Rounding out the Tigers lineup are Carly Ray Goldstein and junior Nadine Dreher.