LSU wins Lady Tiger Golf Classic _lowres

Advocate staff photo by HILARY SCHEINUK -- LSU senior Madelene Sagstrom lines up her putt on the eighth hole during the LSU Tiger Golf Classic, Sunday, Mar. 30, 2015, at The University Club in Baton Rouge, La.

The national champion LSU men’s golf team placed five golfers on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association men’s golf team, while LSU head coach Chuck Winstead nabbed Coach of the Year honors and Tiger sophomore Brandon Pierce was chosen as Player of the Year.

The team was upon by university sports information directors from the state.

Southeastern Louisiana’s James Anstiss was named the Newcomer of the Year, while Bob MacIntyre of McNeese State received Freshman of the Year honors.

On the women’s side, LSU and Tulane dominated the all-state team. Tigers senior Madelene Sagstrom was named the Player of the Year and Tulane’s Lorne Don and LSU’s Karen Bahnsen shared Coach of the Year.

The men’s first team features the LSU duo of Pierce and senior Stewart Jolly, along with Louisiana Tech’s Victor Lange, Louisiana-Monroe’s Calum Hill, Southeastern Louisiana’s Grady Brame and MacIntyre.

A second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection, Pierce battled back from a back injury that sidelined him a year ago and played his way to one of the nation’s top golfers. Jolly was also a second-team All-SEC pick and joined Pierce as two of the catalysts to bring the Tigers their first SEC title in 28 years.

Lange was the Conference USA Golfer of the Year, a first-team All C-USA selection and represented Louisiana Tech at the NCAA regionals.

Hill was a second-team All-Sun Belt Conference performer who registered 20 rounds at par or under despite only playing 34 rounds on the season.

Grame was a first-team All-Southland Conference selection for the second straight year. The senior led Southeastern to an NCAA regional berth.

McIntyre was also the SLC Freshman of the Year, made the league’s first team and led the Cowboys to their first NCAA Division I postseason berth.

Winstead was named the SEC Coach of the Year after he guided the Tigers to three regular season titles, the SEC championship and the national title.

The women’s team is a compilation of golfers from Tulane and LSU, both of which advanced to the national championship rounds in May.

Tulane placed two players on the list: Gemma Dryburgh and junior Emily Penttila. Meanwhile the Tigers featured Sagstrom, sophomore Caroline Nistrup and junior Elise Bradley.

Sagstrom was a finalist for the ANNIKA Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top player, and was tabbed the SEC Player of the Year.

Dryburgh and Penttila were each named to the American Athletic Conference first team.Dryburgh led Tulane with a 74.33 scoring average and Penttila was second with a 74.52.

A two-time All-SEC first team selection, Nistrup ranked as one of the top players in the country. Bradley was a second-team all-conference pick and ranked among the nation’s Top-50 golfers.

Bahnsen and Don are the co-Coach of the Year. Bahnsen led LSU to the NCAA regionals for the 21st time in the 23 years of NCAA regional play and to the NCAA championships for the 12th time.

Don received Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season and also led the Green Wave to NCAA regional play and to the NCAA championships for the second consecutive year.