COLLEGE STATION, Texas — The LSU swimming and diving program finished the Southeastern Conference Championships with seven new team records, two medals and three NCAA ‘A’ cuts in relays.

LSU’s men finished in sixth place with 753.5 points on Saturday while Florida totaled 1,408 and ended Auburn’s streak of 16 consecutive SEC titles. Auburn came in second with 1196 points, followed by Georgia, Tennessee and Missouri.

The LSU women finished seventh with 494 points, while Georgia captured its fourth consecutive conference championship with 1,420 points. Texas A&M came in second with 1296 points, followed by Florida, Tennessee, Auburn and Arkansas.

LSU’s Craig Hamilton swam a mile in 14:53.10 to capture the fourth heat. After the final heat, Hamilton’s time was good for fourth place and was the sixth-fastest 1650 freestyle in the nation this season —good for an NCAA ‘B’ cut.

LSU’s Cassie Weil was named SEC Freshman Diver of the Year after picking up two top-eight finishes on the three-meter (fifth-327.70) and on the platform (sixth-271.85).

Andrei Tuomola tied the 100 freestyle program record with a time of 43.22 in the prelims and finished eighth in the championship final (43.58). Tuomola’s mark tied former coach Adam Schmitt’s 25 year-old record and was an NCAA ‘B’ cut.

It was Tuomola’s third team record of the meet (100 breaststroke and 400 medley relay) and the longest-standing LSU individual record. Tuomola took bronze in the 100 breaststroke.

In diving, Daniel Helm qualified for the platform championships with a score of 360.45 and was fifth in the final with a score of 352.90. Helm took bronze on the one-meter springboard earlier in the competition.

On platform, Sean McKinney came in 12th with a career-best score of 314.35, and junior Kevin Leong came in 13th with a score of 303.50.

Nick Kunkel posted LSU’s sixth program record of the meet with a 200 backstroke NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:43.81 in the prelims and won the consolation final with a mark of 1:44.28.

Danielle Stirrat picked up LSU’s 200 back record with an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:55.21 and was second in the ‘C’ final. Stirrat’s swim was the Lady Tigers’ first record of the meet.

The men’s 400 free relay team of Tuomola, Michael Saco, Alex Linge and Frank Greeff went 2:54.18 for a season best, an NCAA ‘B’ cut and a fourth-place finish.

Men’s team standings: 1. Florida, 1408. 2. Auburn, 1,196. 3. Georgia, 1,024. 4. Tennessee, 787.5. 5. Missouri, 779.5. 6. LSU, 753.5. 7. Texas A&M, 709.5. 8. South Carolina, 540.5. 9. Kentucky, 452.5. 10. Alabama, 541.

Women’s team standings: 1. Georgia, 1,420. 2. Texas A&M, 1,296. 3. Florida, 1,190. 4. Tennessee, 1,018. 5. Auburn, 860. 6. Arkansas, 594. 7. LSU, 494. 8. Missouri, 487. 9. Kentucky, 386.5. 10. Alabama, 353. 11. South Carolina, 248. 12. Vanderbilt, 183.

Women’s tennis

LADY TIGERS SWEEP NICHOLLS STATE, GRAMBLING: The LSU women’s tennis team swept Nicholls State 7-0 and Grambling 7-0 in a Saturday doubleheader at W.T. “Dub” Robinson Stadium.

LSU will open Southeastern Conference play hosting No. 17 Vanderbilt on Friday at W.T. “Dub” Robinson Stadium at 3 p.m.

#54 LSU 7, Nicholls State 0


1. Kaitlin Burns def. Natalia Cardiff 7-5, 6-1

2. Mary Jeremiah def. Marie Aubert 6-2, 7-5

3. Ella Taylor def. Rachel Howie 6-0, 6-0

4. Ariel Morton def. Emma Pitre 6-1, 6-0

5. Caroline Hudson def. Isla Brock 6-2, 6-4

6. Ebie Wilson def. Eva Castiglioni 6-0, 6-1


1. Mary Jeremiah/Ariel Morton def. Emma Pitre/Rachel Howie 8-0

2. Ebie Wilson/Keri Frankenberger def. Natalia Cardiff/Eva Castiglioni 8-0

3. Kaitlin Burns/Ella Taylor (LSU) vs. Marie Aubert/Isla Brock 6-4, unfinished

#54 LSU 7, Grambling 0


1. Kaitlin Burns def. Georgina Stephenson 6-0, 6-0

2. Mary Jeremiah def. Oluwatomisin Kassim 6-0, 6-0

3. Ella Taylor def. Joy Jones 6-0, 6-0

4. Ariel Morton def. Tafadza Chiridza 6-0, 6-0

5. Caroline Hudson def. Alicia Shaw 6-1, 6-0

6. Keri Frankenberger def. Tabitha Nankya 6-0, 6-0


1. Mary Jeremiah/Ariel Morton def. Oluwatomisin Kassim/Tabitha Nankya 8-0

2. Ebie Wilson/Keri Frankenberger def. Georgina Stephenson/Alicia Shaw 8-0

3. Kaitlin Burns/Ella Taylor (LSU) vs. Joy Jones/Tafadza Chiridza 6-0, unfinished