Who’ll win the Music City Bowl? LSU or Notre Dame? Get your predictions right here. _lowres

Advocate staff photo by BILL FEIG -- The Golden Band from Tigerland fires up the fans Sept. 20 in Baton Rouge.

Ross Dellenger

Don’t expect some new, snazzy LSU offense to take the field against Notre Dame. The Tigers will use their same clock-churning, run-heavy style to move the football, and they’ll rely on a defense that’s at its best against offenses like Notre Dame’s — pass-heavy spread schemes.

LSU 24, Notre Dame 14

Scott Rabalais

For two teams with questionable quarterback play, humming a winning tune in the Music City Bowl will come down to some pretty basic stuff: who runs the ball better, who controls the line of scrimmage. LSU should have significant advantages in both areas. The conditions could be a factor in Notre Dame’s favor, but if the Tigers come with any focus at all, they should come away with the win.

LSU 28, Notre Dame 16

Sheldon Mickles

Eye of the Tiger or Irish Eyes? Notre Dame’s defense has fallen completely apart since an Oct. 18 setback at Florida State. In going 1-4 in their past five outings, the Irish have been equally bad against the run (244.2 yards per game, 12 TDs) and pass (235.6 yards per game, 13 TDs) in allowing 43.4 points per game. That’ll be enough for LSU’s offense to exploit early and often.

LSU 34, Notre Dame 17

National predictions

Ralph Russo, Associated Press: LSU 34, Notre Dame 21

Mark Schlabach, ESPN.com: LSU 27, Notre Dame 24

Pat Forde, Yahoo Sports: LSU 34, Notre Dame 17

Dennis Dodd, CBSSports.com: LSU (winner)

Mike Huguenin, NFL.com: LSU 27, Notre Dame 17

Gil Brandt, NFL.com: LSU 31, Notre Dame 21

George Schroeder, USA Today: LSU (winner)

Erick Smith, USA Today: LSU (winner)

Ryan Fowler, FoxSports.com: LSU (winner)

John Halpin, FoxSports.com: LSU (winner)

Brian Hamilton, SI.com: LSU 23, Notre Dame 16

Andy Staples, SI.com: LSU (winner)

Pete Thamel, SI.com: LSU (winner)

Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star: LSU (winner)

Chris Low, ESPN.com: LSU (winner)

Edward Aschoff, ESPN.com: LSU (winner)

Sam Khan Jr., ESPN.com: LSU 27, Notre Dame 17

Greg Ostendorf, ESPN.com: LSU 24, Notre Dame 21

Chip Patterson, CBSSports.com: LSU 17, Notre Dame 10