The LSU women’s basketball program signed Chloe Jackson, a 5-9 guard who spent last season at North Carolina State, LSU coach Nikki Caldwell announced Friday.

Because of NCAA transfer rules, Jackson will sit out the 2015-16 season and be eligible to compete as a redshirt sophomore beginning in 2016-17. She will be able to practice with the Lady Tigers during the 2015-16 year.

Jackson, a native of Upper Marlboro, Maryland, was named the Washington Post’s Girls Basketball Player of the Year and garnered Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) High School All-America honorable hention at Riverdale Baptist. She averaged 17.3 points per game and was ranked the 19th-best guard in the Class of 2014 by ESPN.

Jackson played in four games for NC State last season with five points, five rebounds and two steals against Tennessee State in her only extended action of the season.

Track and field

LSU WOMEN CLAIM SHUTTLE HURDLE RELAY TITLE: In Philadelphia, LSU cruised to victory in the women’s shuttle hurdle relay to highlight Friday’s action at the Penn Relays.

Danielle Phillips, Chanice Chase, Mikiah Brisco and Daeshon Gordon defeated defending champion Auburn to win LSU’s 10th Penn Relays title all-time in the event.

LSU had a winning time of 54.22 seconds, while Auburn had a 56.04 for second place.

In the preliminary round of the 100-meter hurdles, Chase and Gordon easily advanced to Saturday’s final in the open race and will race for the title in the meet’s finale. Chase (13.41w) and Gordon (13.45w) finished 2-3 in the first qualifying heat with the second-fastest and fourth-fastest times of the day, respectively.

The Tigers and Lady Tigers finished off Friday’s action at Franklin Field by running in two more finals with foursomes in both the men’s and women’s 1,600-meter sprint medley relays.

LSU’s team of Darrell Bush (200 meters), Fitzroy Dunkley (200 meters), Quincy Downing (400 meters) and Blair Henderson (800 meters) finished second to champion Penn State (3:21.29) with a time of 3:21.95.

The Lady Tigers, eight-time winners of the event all-time, brought the baton home in 3:54.78 for a fifth-place finish with a team of Kymber Payne, Ka’Lynn Jupiter, Travia Jones and Morgan Schuetz.

The Tigers cruised into the final in the men’s 4x100-meter relay team of Joshua Thompson, Vernon Norwood, Tremayne Acy and Aaron Ernest won the second preliminary heat in 40.31.

Men’s tennis

DAIGLE, SIMPSON NAMED ALL-SEC: LSU’s Jordan Daigle earned first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors, while Chris Simpson was a second-team selection, the league office announced Thursday.

Daigle, who is ranked No. 75 by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, had an 11-7 record, including four wins over players ranked in the top 125 by the ITA.

Simpson is tied for second on the team this season in wins at 24-13 record.