LSU’s Chuck Winstead was named the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year while Stewart Jolly, Zach Wright, Brandon Pierce and Eric Ricard earned All-SEC honors after the Tigers were crowned SEC champions two weeks ago.

Jolly, Wright, Pierce and Ricard were each named second-team All-SEC selections in a vote of the league’s head coaches. Jolly is an All-SEC performer for the second straight season after picking up first-team honors a year ago, while Wright, Pierce and Ricard were voted to the All-SEC team for the first time.

It is the first time in program history four Tigers were named to the All-SEC team, eclipsing their previous best of three selections six times.

The field for the NCAA regionals will be announced on May 4, from 9-10 a.m. on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive program.


First team

Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina (SEC Championship Medalist); Matt Gilchrest, Auburn; Lee McCoy, Georgia; Ben Schlottman, Auburn; Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt; Robby Shelton, Alabama; Will Starke, South Carolina; Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt

Second team

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt; Carson Jacobs, Vanderbilt; Michael Johnson, Auburn; Stewart Jolly, LSU; Taylor Moore, Arkansas; Brandon Pierce, LSU; Eric Ricard, LSU; J.D. Tomlinson, Florida; Zach Wright, LSU


Jonathan Hardee, Alabama; Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt; Tyler “Chip” McDaniel, Kentucky; Ben Schlottman, Auburn; Alejandro Tosti, Florida


Chuck Winstead, LSU


Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt


Ben Schlottman, Auburn


Forrest Gamble, Ole Miss

Women’s basketball

LSU TO FACE TEXAS TECH AT 2017 SEC/BIG 12 CHALLENGE: The LSU women’s basketball team will travel to Texas Tech as part of the 2017 SEC/Big 12 Challenge announced Thursday by the two conference offices.

The four-team event began last season with two games in Little Rock, Arkansas and will continue with two games in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma next season. It will expand to 10 games for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons. The format features five home games for each conference played on campus sites per year. Matchups during the 2016-17 season will be scheduled from Thursday, Dec. 1 through Sunday, Dec. 4.

Dates have not been finalized for the 2017-18 season.

Women’s tennis

LSU’S VALE COSTA SELECTED FOR NCAA SINGLES CHAMPIONSHIPS: LSU women’s tennis player Joana Vale Costa was selected to compete in the singles competition of the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships the NCAA announced Thursday.

Vale Costa was an at-large selection and became the first Lady Tiger since Megan Falcon in 2009 to be selected for the individual championships.

The LSU men’s team of Scott and Vale Costa is also the third alternate for the doubles championships. The duo is ranked 37th in the country.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 20-25 at the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas.

Sand volleyball

ORELLANA AND LINDELOW SET FOR AVCA CHAMPIONSHIPS: LSU’s No. 1 pair of Mandi Orellana and Katie Lindelow will travel to Gulf Shores, Alabama, to participate in the AVCA National Championships this weekend.

The duo competes Friday against Loyola Marymount at 1 p.m. and against UAB at 3 p.m. Orellana and Lindelow play their remaining matches against Arizona and ULM on Saturday for a chance to be selected in Sunday’s 16-team elimination bracket.