LAFAYETTE — Southeastern Louisiana first baseman Jameson Fisher and Northwestern State right-hander Adam Oller highlighted the Louisiana Sports Writers Association college baseball team that was released Saturday.

The team was selected by a panel of statewide media members and the state’s baseball sports information directors.

Louisiana Tech’s Greg Goff, who led the Bulldogs to their first berth in the NCAA regionals since 1987, was the overwhelming choice as Coach of the Year.

Tulane’s Jeremy Montalbano was chosen as Newcomer of the Year, while Green Wave teammate Ross Massey was named the state’s Freshman of the Year.

Fisher, a junior from Zachary, was chosen as the LSWA Hitter of the Year after posting a .437 average with 11 home runs and 66 RBIs.

The Southland Conference Player of the Year led all Division I players in batting average and on-base percentage (.564) as he helped lead Southeastern Louisana to the NCAA regionals.

Oller was named the LSWA Pitcher of the Year after posting an 8-1 record with a 1.23 earned run average. He went 8-0 in the regular season and had the nation’s third-lowest ERA entering the NCAA tournament.

Oller, who was named the Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year, posted the lowest season ERA at Northwestern State since 1968 and allowed two or fewer earned runs in 14 of his 15 starts.

Montalbano posted a .269 batting average with 12 home runs and 45 RBIs in his first season at Tulane, earning first-team All-American Athletic Conference honors as a designated hitter.

Massey, the first freshman in Green Wave history to win 10 games in a season, posted a 10-3 record with a 2.29 ERA in 18 appearances.

In his second year as coach at Louisiana Tech, Goff led the Bulldogs to 42 wins, more than the previous two years (40) combined.

The Bulldogs, who were picked to finish 11th out of 12 teams in the Conference USA preseason polls, finished fifth in the league standings with a 19-11 record.

Louisiana Tech earned wins over 10 ranked teams and received its first national ranking since 1987.

Oller was joined on the first-team by pitchers Alex Lange of LSU, Dylan Moore of Louisiana-Lafayette and Casey Sutton of Louisiana Tech.

Jake Rogers of Tulane was named as the first-team catcher with Southeastern’s Carson Crites (second base), Tulane’s Stephen Alemais (shortstop) and LSU Shreveport’s Alex Montero (third base) joining Fisher in the infield.

Kyle Clement of UL-Lafayette and the LSU tandem of Antoine Duplantis and Jake Fraley were named first-team outfielders, with Montalbano being named first-team designated hitter and Centenary’s Dakota Brown first-team utility player.

Massey was joined on the second-team pitching staff by teammate Emerson Gibbs, Louisiana Tech’s Adam Atkins and Mac Sceroler of SLU. LSU’s Jordan Romero (catcher), Cole Freeman (second base), Kramer Robertson (shortshop) and Bryce Jordan (designated hitter) were part of a state-best seven players named to the team.

Also named to the second team were Loyola’s Luis Anguizola (first base), Louisiana Tech’s Chase Lunceford (third base) and Raphael Gladu (outfielder), McNeese State’s Lewis Guilbeau (outfielder), Michael Schimpf of Centenary (outfielder) and PJ Leto (utility) of LSU Alexandria.

All-Louisiana college baseball team

Special honors

Coach of the Year —Greg Goff, Louisiana Tech

Hitter of the Year — Jameson Fisher, Southeastern Louisiana

Pitcher of the Year — Adam Oller, Northwestern State

Newcomer of the Year — Jeremy Montalbano, Tulane

Freshman of the Year — Ross Massey, Tulane


First Team

Alex Lange, LSU —So., 7-3, 3.56 ERA, 15 starts, 2 complete games, 98.2 IP, 80 H, 42 R, 39 ER, 45 BB, 107 K

Dylan Moore, UL Lafayette — So., 6-1, 0.94 ERA, 47.2 IP, 13 Saves, 56 K, All-Sun Belt first team

Adam Oller, Northwestern State — Jr., 8-1, 1.23 ERA, Louisville Slugger All-America second team

Casey Sutton, Louisiana Tech — Jr., 8-1, 1.91 ERA, All-Conference USA first team

Second Team

Adam Atkins, Louisiana Tech — Sr., 6-1, 1.20 ERA, 9 SV, 45.0 IP, 56 K

Emerson Gibbs, Tulane — Sr., 6-4, 2.61 ERA, American Athletic Conference first team

Ross Massey, Tulane — Fr., 10-3, 2.29 ERA, Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American

Mac Sceroler, Southeastern Louisiana — So., 10-3, 2.18 ERA, 90.2 IP, 92 K, All-SLC first team


First Team

Jake Rogers, Tulane — Jr., .261, 7 HR, 28 RBI, All-American Athletic Conference first team

Second Team

Jordan Romero, LSU — Jr., .301, 9 HR, 41 RBI

First base

First Team

Jameson Fisher, Southeastern Louisiana — Jr., .437, 11 HR, 66 RBI, SLC Player of the Year

Second Team

Luis Anguizola, Loyola — Jr., .428, 9 HR, 55 RBI, NAIA All-America honorable mention

Second base

First Team

Carson Crites, Southeastern Louisiana — Jr., .307, 8 HR, 34 RBI, All-Southland Conference first team

Second Team

Cole Freeman, LSU — Jr., .325, 1 HR, 25 RBI, 24-33 SB, SEC All-Defensive Team


First Team

Stephen Alemais, Tulane — Jr., .311, 1 HR, 28 RBI, All-American Athletic Conference first team

Second Team

Kramer Robertson, LSU — Jr., .316, 1 HR, 36 RBI, All-SEC first team

Third base

First Team

Alex Montero, LSU Shreveport — Sr., .461, 16 HR, 67 RBI, 43-game hitting streak, Red River Athletic Conference Player of the Year

Second Team

Chase Lunceford, Louisiana Tech — Jr., .312, 11 HR, 51 RBI


First Team

Kyle Clement, UL Lafayette — Sr., .355, 3 HR, 22 RBI, All-Sun Belt first team

Antoine Duplantis, LSU — Fr., .340, 2 HR, 36 RBI, All-SEC Freshman

Jake Fraley, LSU — Jr., .321, 3 HR, 31 RBI, 26-34 SB

Second Team

Raphael Gladu, Louisiana Tech — Jr., .339, 2 HR, 29 RBI

Lewis Guilbeau, McNeese State — Sr., .353 BA, 1 HR, 31 RBI, All-Southland Conference second team

Michael Schimpf, Centenary — Jr., .425, 4 HR, 32 RBI, All-Region by ABCA and D3baseball

Designated hitter

First Team

Jeremy Montalbano, Tulane — Jr., .269, 12 HR, 45 RBI, All-American Athletic Conference first team

Second Team

Bryce Jordan, LSU — Fr., .307, 5 HR, 31 RBI, All-SEC first team


First Team

Dakota Brown, Centenary — Sr., .363, 19 RBI, 2-2, 3.55 ERA, 2 Saves

Second Team

PJ Leto, LSU Alexandria — Sr., .297, 1 HR, 30 RBI, 5-5 W-L, 3.39 ERA, 12 GS, 4 CG, 69.0 IP, All-RRAC second team

Honorable mention

P — Kaleb Fontenot, McNeese State

C — Kyle Bracey, UNO

1B — Connor Crane, McNeese State

3B — Hunter Hope, Tulane

OF — Logan Constantine, LSU Alexandria

DH — Hezekiah Randolph, UNO

Utility — Drew Avans, Southeastern