NEW YORK —It was a record-setting opener for the fifth-ranked Lady Tigers on Friday at the Armory Collegiate Invitational as seniors Kimberlyn Duncan and Charlene Lipsey set meet records, and fellow senior Laura Carleton turned in a new school record while winning their events at the New Balance Track & Field Center.

Duncan broke Lady Tiger great Kelly-Ann Baptiste’s meet record in winning the 60-meter title, while Lipsey eclipsed her own meet record to win the 1,000 meters and Carleton set LSU’s new indoor mark in winning the 5,000 meters at The Armory for the first time in school history.

Duncan became the NCAA’s No. 1-ranked 60-meter sprinter this season while leading four event winners on the day as Tiger senior Damar Forbes also defended his title in the men’s long jump.

While claiming four event championships Friday, the Tigers and Lady Tigers also combined for five performances that rank among the NCAA’s Top 10 in 2013.

Duncan stole the show with an NCAA-leading performance in the final event of the day for the 60-meter crown. She cruised to an easy victory with a meet record and personal record of 7.16.

Duncan is the third Lady Tiger to win the 60-meter title at the Armory Collegiate Invitational as she follows Kelly Ann Baptiste (2008) and three-time champion Muna Lee (2002-04).

Lipsey turned in a meet-record performance in defending her 1,000-meter crown. She scored a wire-to-wire victory in 2 minutes, 44.20 seconds.

Carleton set a record while becoming the fastest Lady Tiger in history to run the 5,000 meters indoors with her victory. Carleton took charge with three laps to go after running 40 seconds on her 22nd trip around the oval and never relinquished her lead as she took the tape in 16:11.58. Carleton smashed the previous indoor school mark of 17:16.95 set by former Lady Tiger Bridgette Cusack in 2000.

With Carleton running the 1,200-meter leadoff leg and Lipsey running the 1,600-meter anchor leg, they teamed with sophomore Montenae Roye-Speight on the 400-meter leg and junior Nikita Tracey on the 800-meter leg to run the second-fastest DMR indoors in school history at 11:22.74 for seventh place.

Forbes competed in the long jump for the first time this season and successfully defended his meet crown in the championship final with the No. 2-ranked performance in the NCAA after opening with a top mark of 25 feet, 10 ¼.

Jasmin Stowers won silver in the 60-meter hurdles final. Stowers clocked the sixth-fastest time in the NCAA this season at 8.19.

Shanekia Hall won the consolation final in the women’s 60 hurdles with a strong run of 8.32.

Rynell Parson and sophomore Aaron Ernest ran impressive seasonal bests in a 2-3 finish in the men’s 60-meter championship. Parson moved into a tie for the No. 13 spot in the NCAA rankings with his 6.68 seasonal best for second place, while Ernest set a PR of 6.69 in the final. They were edged at the finish line by Mississippi State’s D’Angelo Cherry, who took the men’s title in 6.67.

Caleb Williams and freshman Darrell Bush each advanced to the final of the men’s 400-meter dash.


FICO ON WATCH LIST: LSU softball pitcher Rachele Fico and University of Louisiana at Lafayette infielder Nerissa Myers are two of 50 finalists chosen to the “Watch List” for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award announced Friday by Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball.

The award, considered the Heisman Trophy of women’s collegiate softball, is in its 12th season and designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by softball players from across the country.

It marks the third straight season Fico has been in contention for the award.

Women’s tennis

LADY TIGERS TO HOST SMU: The LSU women’s tennis team will host Southern Methodist on Saturday at noon at the W. T. “Dub” Robinson Stadium.

The Lady Tigers (2-0) faced several SMU (1-0) players at the Rice Invitational during the fall season, including No. 112 Kaitlin Burns’ 5-7, 6-2, 7-5 victory over the Mustangs’ Heidi Stewart during the first round of competition.

The LSU-Grambling match, previously scheduled for Saturday at 6 p.m., has been rescheduled for Feb. 23 at 6 p.m. following a 1 p.m. matchup against Nicholls State.