The LSU soccer team opens Southeastern Conference play at Missouri at 6:30 p.m. Friday.

LSU (4-3-1) will make its debut on the SEC Network when it takes on Missouri (5-1-2).

Missouri’s Taylor Grant is the reigning SEC Offensive Player of the Week after scoring game-winning goals against Montana and Cal State Northridge last weekend.

While Grant is Missouri’s leading goal scorer with a career-high six goals, senior midfielder Kaysie Clark tops the SEC charts and ranks third nationally with eight assists.


TIGERS ON THE ROAD AGAIN: The Tigers a long early-season road stretch, traveling to San Antonio to take part in the UTSA Classic against Baylor and the host Roadrunners.

The Tigers (2-4) open play against Baylor at noon Friday. The two will square off again at noon Saturday before playing UTSA at 6 p.m. Saturday.

By the end of the weekend, LSU will have played its first nine matches on the road.

LSU is coming off of a 1-2 performance in the Four Points by Sheraton Seminole Invitational at Florida State.

Track and field

EX-TIGER THOMPSON ANCHORS WINNING RELAY: LSU track and field alumnus Richard Thompson anchored the favored Americas to the gold medal in the men’s 4x100-meter relay final at the 2014 IAAF Continental Cup on Sunday.

Men’s tennis


The Tigers tennis team enjoyed a strong showing in Lafayette on Thursday at the first day of fall competition at the Cajun Classic as junior Tam Trinh advanced to the quarterfinals of championship singles play and third-seeded senior Chris Simpson advanced to the second round.

Trinh set the tone early for LSU with his 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 victory over top-seeded senior Nathan Pasha of Georgia. Trinh then beat Kentucky freshman William Bushamuka 6-3, 6-3.

Simpson kept the positive momentum rolling and scored another victory for the Tigers when he outlasted University of Texas junior Michael Riechmann by a score of 6-4, 6-4.


Championship Bracket

First round

Tam Trinh (LSU) def. Nathan Pasha(UGA), 2-6, 6-4, 6-4; John Mee (Texas) def. Jordan Daigle (LSU), 6-3, 7-6 (3); Chris Simpson (LSU) def. Michael Riechmann (Texas), 6-4, 6-4; Skander Mansouri (WF) def. Andrew Korinek (LSU), 6-4, 2-0 RET

Second round

Tam Trinh (LSU) def. William Bushamuka (UK), 6-3, 6-3.

Consolation bracket

Jordan Daigle (LSU) def. Trey Yates (UK), 6-3, 7-5.