Gallery: Mississippi State at LSU _lowres

Advocate staff photo by ANGELA MAJOR -- LSU's Jamie Keehn punts the ball Saturday, Sept. 20, 2014, during their game against Mississippi State in Tiger Stadium.

Jamie Keehn will enjoy some hang time on the Ray Guy Award watch list this summer.

The LSU senior punter was one of 25 players named Thursday to the award’s watch list by the Augusta (Georgia) Sports Council.

A native of Queensland, Australia, Keehn ranked second in the Southeastern Conference last season with 44.9 yards per punt and earned second-team All-SEC honors. His season average was the third-highest in school history.

Keehn had 27 of his 71 punts (38 percent) downed inside the 20-yard line and had 17 punts of 50 yards or more. He had a career-high five punts downed inside the 20 against Wisconsin in the season opener. His 43.4-yard career average is third in LSU history only behind fellow Aussie Brad Wing (44.6) and Patrick Fisher (44.1).

This is the third time in the past 10 years an LSU punter has been named to the Ray Guy Award watch list.

Chris Jackson made the list in 2006 and Wing made it in 2012. Wing was a Ray Guy semifinalist in 2011 and 2012.

Keehn is the fifth LSU player this week to be named to a preseason award watch list. He joins Kendell Beckwith (Bednarik Award), Leonard Fournette (Hornung Award, Maxwell Award), Jalen Mills (Bednarik Award) and Ethan Pocic (Rimington Trophy).

Fournette, Mills and offensive guard Vadal Alexander will join coach Les Miles on Thursday in Hoover, Alabama, in LSU’s appearance at SEC Media Days.

The candidate list for the Ray Guy Award will grow to 30 once the season begins, then paired to a list of 10 semifinalists on Nov. 13. Three finalists will be announced Nov. 23, with the winner to be announced Dec. 10 on ESPN.

The watch list for the Lou Groza Award (best place-kicker) was also released Thursday, but no LSU or Louisiana college players were on it. Friday, watch lists will be announced for the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player of the year).

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.