DESTIN, Fla. — Kevin Faulk ran from Carencro High School, into the LSU record book and on to three Super Bowl rings with the New England Patriots.

Now Faulk has a chance to run all the way to the College Football Hall of Fame.

The former LSU All-American is one of 129 players and coaches on the ballot for the 2018 Hall of Fame class. Inductees will be named Jan. 8 in Atlanta prior to the College Football Playoff National Championship game and formally enshrined Dec. 4, 2018 at the National Football Foundation annual awards dinner in New York.

A 1996 All-American, Faulk remains LSU’s all-time leading rusher with 4,557 yards and finished his college career fourth nationally in career all-purpose yards (6,833). A three-time All-Southeastern Conference selection, Faulk set 11 school records and became the first LSU back to average over 100 yards per game for his career (111.2).

Three former New Orleans Saints are also on the ballot: place-kicker Morten Andersen, Michigan State; quarterback Kerry Collins, Penn State; and running back Craig “Ironhead” Heyward, Pittsburgh. Andersen was a 1981 All-American and still holds the Big Ten record with a 63-yard field goal that season.

New Orleans native Ed Reed, a two-time All-American defensive back at Miami (Florida) is also on the ballot, as is former Tulane wide receiver Marc Zeno. A 1987 All-American, Zeno broke the Division I record with 3,725 career yards.

Among the coaching nominees is former Louisiana Tech coach Maxie Lambright (1967-78) and Mack Brown, head coach at four schools including Tulane from 1985-87. Brown led Texas to the 2005 BCS national championship and was LSU’s offensive coordinator in 1982.

Other prominent names on the ballot include SMU running back Eric Dickerson, Miami (Florida) linebacker Ray Lewis, Southern California defensive back Troy Polamalu, Ole Miss linebacker Patrick Willis, 1997 Heisman Trophy winner and Michigan defensive back Charles Woodson and current Carolina Panthers coach and former California linebacker Ron Rivera.

Of the 5.2 million players who have competed in college football since 1869, only 987 (plus 214 coaches) have made the Hall of Fame through 2017.

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.​