The final act of the LSU women’s basketball team’s season is at hand, and perhaps not a moment too soon.

The Lady Tigers closed out the regular season Sunday with a 75-39 loss at No. 3 South Carolina, dropping them to 9-20 overall and 3-13 in the Southeastern Conference.

The loss left LSU with the No. 13 seed for this week’s SEC women’s tournament. The Lady Tigers will face No. 12 Alabama (15-14, 4-12) in the tournament’s first game at 10 a.m. CST Wednesday at Veterans Memorial Arena in Jacksonville, Florida.

The game will be televised on the SEC Network.

The winner of the LSU-Alabama game will face No. 5-seeded Kentucky on Thursday afternoon. The tournament continues through Sunday.

LSU has been troubled by injuries and personnel issues all season. The result is the most SEC losses in a season in school history and an overall record that is tied for the most losses in a single season with the 1994-95 squad that went 7-20.

That team was one and done in the 1995 SEC tournament, losing to Florida 88-80.

The Lady Tigers are 34-35 all-time in the tournament, winning titles in 1991 and 2003. LSU is 5-4 under coach Nikki Fargas in four tournament appearances, having won at least one game each year and reaching the tournament final in 2012.

SEC women’s tournament

in Jacksonville, Fla.

First three rounds on SEC Network

Round 1


Game 1: No. 12 vs. No. 13 LSU, 10 a.m.

Game 2: No. 11 Vanderbilt vs. No. 14 Ole Miss, 25 minutes after end of Game 1

Round 2


Game 3: No. 8 Missouri vs. No. 9 Auburn, 11 a.m.

Game 4: No. 5 Kentucky vs. Game 1 winner, 25 minutes after end of Game 3

Game 5: No. 7 Tennessee vs. No. 10 Arkansas, 5 p.m.

Game 6: No. 6 Georgia vs. Game 2 winner, 25 minutes after end of Game 5

Round 3


Game 7: No. 1 South Carolina vs. Game 3 winner, 11 a.m.

Game 8: No. 4 Florida vs. Game 4 winner, 25 minutes after end of Game 7

Game 9: No. 2 Texas A&M vs. Game 5 winner, 5 p.m.

Game 10: No. 3 Mississippi State vs. Game 6 winner, 25 minutes after end of Game 9


Semifinals on ESPNU


Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 4 p.m.

Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 25 minutes after end of first semifinal


Final on ESPN


Semifinal winners, 1:30 p.m., ESPN