AUSTIN, Texas — After winning the women’s 4x800-meter relay on Thursday night, the Lady Tigers defended their sprint medley and distance medley relay championships on Friday night at Mike A. Myers Stadium to finish the third day of competition at the 86th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays 3-for-3 in relay finals on the weekend.

The Lady Tigers won their second straight sprint medley relay crown and fourth in five seasons at the Texas Relays with the second-fastest time in school history at 3 minutes, 43.98 seconds.

They followed by capturing the distance medley relay title for the second straight season with the fourth-fastest time in school history at 11:23.55, beating Texas in both races.

The team of Latoya McDermott (200 meters), Kimberlyn Duncan (200 meters), Siedda Herbert (400 meters) and Natoya Goule (800 meters) defended its sprint medley crown with the team’s 13th win in the event all-time at the Texas Relays.

The Lady Tigers defended their distance medley relay championship as senior Laura Carleton anchored the team of Andria Aguilar, Montenae Roye-Speight and Samantha Levin to victory by seven seconds (11:23.55).

Nikita Tracey slashed nearly a second off her seasonal best in a third-place finish in the final of the 400-meter hurdles (57.83).

Damar Forbes had a third-place finish in the long jump outdoors this spring. He ended the competition with a series-best wind-aided mark of 25 feet, 10 ¾ inches (+2.1) in the sixth round.

Friday’s morning session featured five LSU qualifiers into Saturday’s finals as Duncan and sophomore Aaron Ernest each earned a spot in the final of the 100-meter dash, junior Jasmin Stowers secured a lane in the final of the 100-meter hurdles and both the men’s 4x100-meter relay and women’s 4x400-meter relay advanced to their respective finals.

Saturday’s championship finals begin at 10 a.m. in the field events followed by the first relay finals on the track at 1:30 p.m.

Men’s tennis

TIGERS UPSET FLORIDA: In Gainesville, Fla., the No. 33 LSU men’s tennis team picked up a 4-2 win over No. 20 Florida at the Ring Tennis Center.

The Gators (9-8, 3-4 Southeastern Conference) took the first doubles match on court one behind an 8-5 victory by Stephane Piro and Bob van Overbeek over LSU’s Olivier Borsos and Roger Anderson.

The Tigers evened the doubles matches on court two when LSU’s Stefan Szacinski and Tam Trinh bested Florida’s No. 53 Billy Federhofer and Gordon Watson 8-4.

On court three, the final doubles match between LSU’s Chris Simpson and Boris Arias and Florida’s Mike Alford and Florent Diep went into an 8-8 tiebreaker. The tiebreak was won by LSU 7-4 to win the set 9-8(4) and gave the Tigers a 1-0 lead.

#33 LSU 4, #20 Florida 2


1. #82 Chris Simpson (LSU) def. #125 Stephane Piro 2-6, 6-4, 7-5

2. #102 Florent Diep (UF) vs. Stefan Szacinski 5-7, 6-2, 4-2, unfinished

3. Olivier Borsos (LSU) def. Billy Federhofer 6-4, 6-4

4. Mike Alford (UF) def. Mark Bowtell 6-3, 6-3

5. Boris Arias (LSU) def. Gordon Watson 2-6, 6-3, 6-4

6. Luke Johnson (UF) def. Harrison Kennedy 6-7(5), 6-2, 7-5


1. Stephane Piro/Bob van Overbeek (UF) def. Olivier Borsos/Roger Anderson 8-5

2. Stefan Szacinski/Tam Trinh (LSU) def. #53 Billy Federhofer/Gordon Watson 8-4

3. Chris Simpson/Boris Arias (LSU) def. Mike Alford/Florent Diep 9-8(4)

Women’s tennis

FLORIDA SCORES SHUTOUT: No. 2 Florida scored a 4-0 win over LSU in women’s tennis Friday at W.T. “Dub” Robinson Stadium.

The Gators (14-2, 7-1) clinched the doubles point on courts one and three.

#2 Florida 4, #54 LSU 0


1. #114 Kaitlin Burns (LSU) vs. #1 Lauren Embree 2-6, 2-5, unfinished

2. #12 Sofie Oyen (Florida) def. Mary Jeremiah 6-3, 6-4

3. Ella Taylor (LSU) vs. #107 Brianna Morgan 1-6, 3-4, unfinished

4. Ariel Morton (LSU) vs. #118 Olivia Janowicz 5-7, 0-4, unfinished

5. #125 Caroline Hitimana (Florida) def. Ebie Wilson 6-1, 6-2

6. #115 Danielle Collins (Florida) def. Keri Frankenberger (LSU) 6-1, 6-1


1. #20 Lauren Embree/Sofie Oyen (Florida) def. Mary Jeremiah/Ariel Morton 8-5

2. Keri Frankenberger/Ebie Wilson (LSU) vs. Caroline Hitimana/Brianna Morgan 4-4, unfinished

3. Danielle Collins/Olivia Janowicz (Florida) def. Kaitlin Burns/Ella Taylor 8-0

Swimming and diving

TUOMOLA EARNS SECOND NCAA HONORABLE MENTION ALL-AMERICAN HONOR:In Indianapolis, LSU’s Andrei Tuomola picked up his second school record in as many nights with a 100 breaststroke time of 52.76 during the second day of competition at the NCAA Championships.

Tuomola fired off his second team record of the meet with a 100 breast mark of 52.76 in the prelims, making him the first Tiger to break the 53-second barrier in the event.

Tuomola finished 10th in the prelims and posted a mark of 53.22 to take fourth in the consolation final, finishing 12th overall. In the process, Tuomola, who finished 15th in the 50 free and swam program record time of 19.53 in the prelims, earned his second individual NCAA Honorable Mention All-American honor and the sixth honor of this kind for his career.

Prelims for Saturday’s meet begin at 10 a.m., while finals begin at 6 p.m. and will air live on ESPN3.