Oct. 8, 1988: LSU 7, Auburn 6 - “The Earthquake Game.” Trailing 6-0 with just under two minutes remaining, Tommy Hodson hits Eddie Fuller with an 11-yard touchdown pass in the back of Tiger Stadium’s north end zone on fourth-and-10. The score sets off a celebration that famously registers across campus on a Geology Department’s seismograph.

Sept. 17, 1994: Auburn 30, LSU 26 - “The Interception Game.” In one of the most improbable losses in LSU history, Auburn returns three Jamie Howard interceptions for touchdowns in the fourth quarter and recovers a fumble in the end zone for a fourth score. LSU outgains Auburn 407-165, holding the home team to 16 total yards and one first down in the second half.

Sept. 21, 1996: LSU 19, Auburn 15 - “The Night the Barn Burned.” During the first half, an old wooden basketball gym adjacent to Jordan-Hare Stadium burns to the ground, sending flames and black smoke billowing into the air. Auburn pulls with in 17-15 with a Rusty Williams touchdown run with :38 left then goes for two and the tie. But Raion Hill intercepts Jon Cooley’s two-point pass and returns it for two points for LSU to seal the win.

Oct. 20, 2007: LSU 30, Auburn 24 - “Seconds count.” A field goal would have won it, but LSU receiver Demetrius Byrd signals to offensive coordinator Gary Crowton that a fly route called “144 Go” is open. Matt Flynn finds Byrd in the corner of end zone with Auburn’s Jerraud Powers draped all over him as the clock winds down to :01.

Oct. 23, 2010: Auburn 24, LSU 17 - “The Cam Newton Show.” It was a battle of 7-0 teams with national championship hopes, both led by Heisman Trophy contenders: Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and LSU cornerback/kick returner Patrick Peterson. It was Newton who would have his Heisman moment, dragging Peterson across the goal line on a 49-yard third-quarter TD run. LSU has the ball midway through the fourth quarter with the game tied 17-17 but goes three-and-out. Onterio McCalebb scores on a 70-yard run with 5:05 remaining to keep Auburn unbeaten and on track for its first national title since 1957.

Scott Rabalais