One of the best! Ex-LSU QB Bert Jones inducted into College Football Hall of Fame _lowres

Former LSU quarterback Bert Jones one of the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame. (Advocate file photo)

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – The man known as the Ruston Rifle is now one of the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former LSU quarterback Bert Jones was among 16 players and coaches named to this year’s hall of fame class, the National Football Foundation released here Friday. The announcement helped kick off several days of activities in the Phoenix area leading up to Monday night’s CFP National Championship Game between Alabama and Clemson.

Jones becomes the 14th former LSU player or coach to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and first since tailback Charles Alexander in 2012.

A native of Ruston and the son of LSU, Tulane and NFL great Dub Jones, Bert Jones played at LSU from 1970-72. As a sophomore he helped quarterback the Tigers to the 1970 Southeastern Conference championship and a berth in the Orange Bowl. He led the SEC in passing the following year and was named MVP of LSU’s Sun Bowl victory over Iowa State.

As a senior in 1972, Jones became LSU’s first and only consensus All-American quarterback and finished fourth in that year’s Heisman Trophy voting. He again led the SEC in passing and left LSU as the school’s career leader in passing yards (3,255), completions (220) and touchdowns (28).

In 1973, Jones was a first-round draft pick of the Baltimore Colts. He went on to earn NFL MVP honors with the Colts in 1976.



1956: Gaynell “Gus” Tinsley – End, 1934-36; Head coach, 1948-54

1963: Ken Kavanaugh Sr – End, 1937-39

1967: Abe Mickal – Halfback, 1933-35

1971: G.E. “Doc” Fenton – Quarterback, 1907-09

1995: Tommy Casanova – Safety, 1969-71

2008: Billy Cannon – Halfback, 1957-59

2010: Jerry Stovall – Halfback, 1960-62

2012: Charles Alexander – Tailback, 1975-78

2015: Bert Jones – Quarterback, 1970-72


1951: Dana X. Bible, 1918

1951: Mike Donahue, 1923-27

1954: Lawrence “Biff” Jones, 1932-34

1954: Bernie Moore, 1935-47

1986: Charles McClendon, 1962-79