In what wasn’t exactly a surprise, LSU point guard Tremont Waters was named Tuesday to the Southeastern Conference coaches’ all-freshman team.

The eight-man team was announced in conjunction with the coaches’ first- and second-team All-SEC units and all-defensive team.

A native of New Haven, Connecticut, the 5-foot-11 Waters was the third-highest freshman scorer in the league at 15.6 points per game in the regular season — trailing only Alabama’s Collin Sexton (18.3) and Kentucky’s Kevin Knox (15.7). Waters was tied for 10th regardless of classification.

Waters led all first-year players with 5.9 assists, 2.0 steals and 33.2 minutes per game. He led the entire league in steals and finished second in assists — just behind Florida senior Chris Chiozza, who handed out 6.1 per game.

Waters also was the top freshman in the league and ranked seventh among all players with a 2.1 assist-to-turnover ratio with 177 assists and 86 turnovers.

Waters was also named Tuesday to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's District VII team, a district comprised of Louisiana, Texas and Arkansas.

Coaches All-SEC honors

First team

Jaylen Barford, Arkansas

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Yante Maten, Georgia

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Kassius Robertson, Missouri

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Grant Williams, Tennessee

Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

Second team

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daryl Macon, Arkansas

Bryce Brown, Auburn

Jared Harper, Auburn

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman team

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Nick Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Jontay Porter, Missouri

TJ Starks, Texas A&M

All-Defensive team

Donta Hall, Alabama

Anfernee McLemore, Auburn

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Juwan Parker, Georgia

Co-Freshman of the Year: Collin Sexton, Alabama & Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jontay Porter, Missouri & Lamonté Turner, Tennessee

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Silva, South Carolina & Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Follow Sheldon Mickles on Twitter, @MicklesAdvocate.