LSU guard Tremont Waters (3) gets the layup past Vanderbilt forward Jeff Roberson (11) and Vanderbilt guard Joe Toye (2), Tuesday, February 20, 2018, at LSU's Pete Maravich Assembly Center in Baton Rouge, La. LSU won 88-78.

Advocate staff photo by HILARY SCHEINUK

In what wasn’t exactly a surprise, LSU point guard Tremont Waters was named Tuesday to the Southeastern Conference coaches’ all-freshman team.

The eight-man team was announced in conjunction with the coaches’ first- and second-team All-SEC units and all-defensive team.

A native of New Haven, Connecticut, the 5-foot-11 Waters was the third-highest freshman scorer in the league at 15.6 points per game in the regular season — trailing only Alabama’s Collin Sexton (18.3) and Kentucky’s Kevin Knox (15.7). Waters was tied for 10th regardless of classification.

Waters led all first-year players with 5.9 assists, 2.0 steals and 33.2 minutes per game. He led the entire league in steals and finished second in assists — just behind Florida senior Chris Chiozza, who handed out 6.1 per game.

Waters also was the top freshman in the league and ranked seventh among all players with a 2.1 assist-to-turnover ratio with 177 assists and 86 turnovers.

Waters was also named Tuesday to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's District VII team, a district comprised of Louisiana, Texas and Arkansas.

Coaches All-SEC honors

First team

Jaylen Barford, Arkansas

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Yante Maten, Georgia

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Kassius Robertson, Missouri

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Grant Williams, Tennessee

Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

Second team

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daryl Macon, Arkansas

Bryce Brown, Auburn

Jared Harper, Auburn

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman team

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Nick Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Jontay Porter, Missouri

TJ Starks, Texas A&M

All-Defensive team

Donta Hall, Alabama

Anfernee McLemore, Auburn

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Juwan Parker, Georgia

Co-Freshman of the Year: Collin Sexton, Alabama & Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jontay Porter, Missouri & Lamonté Turner, Tennessee

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Silva, South Carolina & Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Follow Sheldon Mickles on Twitter, @MicklesAdvocate.