Video: Ohio State defensive coordinator Luke Fickell says the Buckeyes defense never waivered _lowres

Associated Press photo by JAMIE MARTIN -- Ohio State players celebrate after defeating Alabama in the Sugar Bowl on Thursday in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

DALLAS — The first College Football Playoff semifinal will begin at 3 p.m. New Year’s Eve.

The CFP on Tuesday announced the start times for the semifinals and four other marquee bowl games to be played New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day.

The second season of the playoff will be the first in which the semifinals will be played Dec. 31, a Thursday this year. Last year’s semifinals were played Jan. 1 at the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl and drew record television ratings for ESPN.

This year the semifinals will be played in the Cotton Bowl and Orange Bowl. The order of the games will be announced Dec. 6 when the pairings are set. The second game is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

The Peach Bowl will begin at noon Dec. 31. The New Year’s Day lineup will be: Fiesta Bowl, noon; Rose Bowl, 4 p.m.; and Sugar Bowl, 7:30 p.m.