Two days after the Southern women’s basketball team won a share of a second consecutive Southwestern Athletic Conference championship, three of the Jaguars players were honored by the conference.

Guard Kendra Coleman was named to the All-SWAC first team on Monday, forward Jasmine Jefferson was named to the second team and forward Briana Green was named Freshman of the Year.

Southern men’s guard Adrian Rodgers was named to the all-SWAC second team.

Coleman, a senior from Donaldsonville, La., led Southern with a scoring average of 13.9 points. Jefferson, a senior from Miami, averaged 10.2 points and a team-high 15.6 rebounds and Green, who’s from Fort Lauderdale, started 18 of the 25 games in which she played, averaging 10.0 points and 5.0 rebounds.

The Jaguars earned a share of the SWAC title last Saturday when they defeated Texas Southern 51-49 in a game halted with 12:36 left because of a double-forfeit in the wake of a bench-clearing brawl.

Both teams are awaiting word from the conference office on potential punishment that could affect them in this week’s SWAC tournament at the Toyota Center in Houston.

Both teams play in the quarterfinals Wednesday. Southern faces Grambling at noon.

Texas Southern’s Alexus Johnson, who was a central figure in Saturday’s brawl, joined Coleman on the first team. TSU’s Johnetta Hayes-Perry was chosen as Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Tigers to a 16-2 SWAC record and 19-10 overall record.

The other members of the first team were Alabama State’s Britney Wright and Jasmine Peeples and Prairie View point guard Jeanette Jackson, who was named SWAC Player of the Year. Peeples was also named Defensive Player of the Year.

Alcorn State junior forward, Norianna Haynes was named Newcomer of the Year.

Jefferson was joined on the second team by guards Brittney Strickland (Alabama A&M) and Brianna Sidney (Texas Southern) and forwards Norianna Haynes (Alcorn State) and Ayanna Hardy-Fuller (Jackson State).

Rodgers, a junior from Atlanta who transferred from South Carolina Upstate, led Southern with a scoring average of 13.2. The Jaguars men open SWAC tournament play against Alabama A&M at 2:30 p.m. Thursday.

The TSU men’s team was 19-12 overall and won the SWAC with a 16-2 record. The Tigers had non-conference wins at Michigan State and at Kansas State. TSU’s Mike Davis was named Coach of the Year and Tigers senior guard Madarious Gibbs was named Player of the Year.

Gibbs was joined on the first team by Alabama State guard Jamel Waters, Alcorn State forwards LeAntwan Luckett and Marquis Vance and Alabama A&M center Nick West. Alabama A&M guard Ladarius Tabb was named Newcomer of the Year and Alabama State’s Steve Rogers Jr. was Freshman of the Year.

Joining Rodgers on the second team were Tabb, Arkansas-Pine Bluff guard Marcel Mosley, forward Maurice Strong of Alabama State and Prairie View center Reggis Onwukamuche (Defensive Player of the Year).

The All-SWAC basketball teams are voted on by the league’s coaches and sports information directors as well as selected media members.