Southern University defensive back Danny Johnson (1) celebrates his 37-yard touchdown reception from quarterback Austin Howard (7) in the second quarter of their game against Alabama A&M at A.W. Mumford Stadium on Saturday, Oct. 7, 2017.


Seven Southern football players earned recognition on the postseason All-Southwestern Athletic Conference football teams Thursday, and one player, Danny Johnson, was recognized at two positions. 

Johnson was named a first-team All-SWAC defensive back, joining tight end Dillon Beard and defensive end Aaron Tiller on the first team.

Johnson was also named a second-team return specialist. Quarterback Austin Howard, running back Herb Edwards, offensive lineman Christian Rodriguez and defensive back Andrea Augustine also earned second-team honors. 

Six of Southern's seven all-conference honorees were seniors. 

Johnson intercepted three passes and finished the regular season ranking second in the SWAC in passes defensed. He did most of his return damage as a punt returner, averaging 17.3 yards on his 13 returns with one touchdown.

Tiller ranked second in both sacks (9½) and tackles for loss (17½). 

Beard finished his senior season as Southern's leader in receiving yards (443) and receiving touchdowns (five). 

Howard missed two games with a knee injury and was limited for several others but still finished second among SWAC in yards passing (1,932) and third in passing touchdowns (18). 

Edwards, who also missed a game to injury, narrowly missed out on a 1,000-yard campaign, finishing the year with 968 yards rushing to rank No. 2 in the SWAC. 

Augustine, the lone returning player among Southern's all-conference representatives, finished second on the team with 55 tackles and also added three pass breakups. 

Grambling took the majority of the superlative honors, with Devante Kincade repeating as Offensive Player of the Year and coach Broderick Fobbs repeating as Coach of the Year. Grambling linebacker De'Arius Christmas took home Defensive Player of the Year honors. 

Mississippi Valley State receiver Quinn McEelfresh was named the Newcomer of the Year after pacing the SWAC in receptions (57) and receiving yards (889). 

Follow Luke Johnson on Twitter, @ByLukeJohnson.