All Times CDT

NASCAR Sprint Cup


Site: Joliet, Illinois.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, noon-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (ESPN2, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10 a.m.-11 a.m.; Fox Sports 2, 1-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 400.5 miles, 267 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth won the Chase opener for the sixth of his seven 2013 victories.

Last week: Brad Keselowski won the regular-season finale at Richmond for his series-leading fourth victory of the year and the top spot in the Chase.

Fast facts: The 16 drivers in the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup were seeded by season victories, giving Keselowski a three-point lead over three-time winners Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson and Joey Logano. Two-time winners Kevin Harvick and Carl Edwards are six points backs, one-time winners Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne, Aric Almirola and AJ Allmendinger nine points behind, and the winless Kenseth, Greg Biffle and Ryan Newman 12 points back. ... The Chase field will be cut to 12 after the third race, to eight after the sixth and to four after the ninth. Championship-eligible drivers will get a spot in the next round with a victory. Points will be reset after each round and the championship will be decided by finishing order in the Nov. 16 finale at Homestead.

Next race: Sylvania 300, Sept. 21, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, New Hampshire.




Site: Joliet, Illinois.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11 a.m.-noon, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, no11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), race, 2:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 2:30-5 p.m.).

Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the 10th of his 12 2013 series victories.

Last week: Busch led all 250 laps at Richmond for his fourth victory of the year and record-extending 67th career series win.

Fast facts: Busch is racing along with fellow Sprint Cup stars Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin. ... Chase Elliott leads the standings, 19 points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith. Elliott won at Chicagoland in July for the last of his three season victories.

Next race: 300, Sept. 20, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Kentucky.


Camping World Truck


Site: Joliet, Illinois.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 2-3:30 p.m.), race 7:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 225 miles, 150 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to fourth of his five 2013 series victories.

Last race: Ryan Blaney won the road race in Bowmanville, Ontario, on Aug. 31 for his first victory of the season.

Fast facts: Busch has five victories in seven Truck starts this year. He has 40 victories in 122 career series starts. ... Johnny Sauter leads the season standings, seven points ahead of 2013 champion Matt Crafton. Blaney is third, 13 points back.

Next race: UNOH 175, Sept. 20, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, New Hampshire.



NHRA Carolina Nationals

Site: Concord, North Carolina.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10 p.m.-11 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Sunday, 1-2:30 a.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7:30-10:30 p.m.).

Track: zMAX Dragway.

Last year: Robert Hight topped the Funny Car field in the Countdown opener. Morgan Lucas won in Top Fuel, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last event: Alexis DeJoria beat John Force in the U.S. Nationals on Sept. 1 in Clermont, Indiana, to became the first female Funny Car driver to win three times in a season. Richie Crampton won the Top Fuel final in the regular-season finale. Shane Gray topped the Pro Stock field and Eddie Krawiec won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: The event opens the six-race NHRA Countdown to the Championship playoffs. The top 10 in each class qualified for the playoffs. Points have been reset, with the gap from first to second 30 points and the other places separated by 10 points. Doug Kalitta leads in Top Fuel, the 65-year-old Force in Funny Car, Jason Line in Pro Stock and Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle. ... In April at the track in the Four-Wide Nationals, Hight won in Funny Car, Antron Brown in Top Fuel, Jimmy Alund in Pro Stock and Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Next event: Texas NHRA FallNationals, Sept. 19-21, Texas Motorplex, Ennis, Texas.


Formula One

Next race: Singapore Grand Prix, Sept. 21, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore.

Last week: Lewis Hamilton won the Italian Grand Prix for his sixth victory of the year. He’s second in the season standings, 22 points behind Medcedes teammate Nico Rosberg.


Other races

ARCA RACING SERIES: ARCA Fall Classic, Saturday, Salem Speedway, Salem, Indiana. Online:

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, Clay County Fairgrounds, Spencer, Iowa; Saturday, Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minnesota. Late Model: Thursday, LaSalle Speedway, LaSalle, Illinois; Friday-Saturday, Berlin Raceway, Marne, Michigan. Super DirtCar: Saturday, Mohawk International Raceway, Akwesasne, New York. Online:

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Saturday, Tri-State Speedway, Haubstadt, Indiana. Online: