Qualifying for spring municipal elections in Louisiana opens Wednesday and runs through Friday.

Secretary of State Tom Schedler says candidates for local municipal races, including mayor, police chief, city council and other offices, can qualify with their local clerk of court from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily.

Schedler says 34 parishes will be qualifying candidates: Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Calcasieu, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Jefferson, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Richland, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tensas, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll and Winn.

Primary elections will be held Saturday, April 5. General elections will be May 3.