Beau Brummell celebrated 76 years of the Club’s affinity for perfection in attire, culture, social correctness and the highest standards of Carnival ball affairs Friday, Jan 22, in the Landmark Hotel Mardi Gras Ballroom.

Through this year’s theme, “Beaustory,” the club’s patron, George Bryan Brummell, lightheartedly retold history vicariously through the namesake and lives of each member.

Formally opening the evening’s affair, ball captain Mr. Wilson C. Boveland presented Master of Ceremonies Dr. Reginald A. Parquet. With the orchestra playing the melody from “We are the World” in the background, “Beau” Parquet, as the members are noted, invited the guests to abandon all worry and care as he proceeded through the narration.

Presenting the members and their ladies, Dr. Parquet first introduced Mr. Elwood T. Davis, who has been a member of the club since 1984. Each member was introduced as “Beau” and presented in the chronological order of their membership in the club. Following Beau Davis were Messrs. Benny G. Harris, James K. Bonds, Dr. Parquet, Boveland, Jeffery D. Jackson, Benjamin Stove Jr., Edward L. Wells Jr., Washington Wells, Dr. Press L. Robinson, Shedrick E. Sublett, Alfred J. Sanders, Warren Lyons Jr., Larry J. Carter, Ezickiel D. Nash, Warner A. Tureaud, John K. Etter, Roland Ellis, Wayne E. Woods, Michael Riley and Joseph F. White Sr. (honorary member).

During the tableau, the club paid special homage to Beau Jackson for an outstanding military career and for his contributions to his family, community, the organization and the nation.

One of the distinguishing highlights of the ball was the presentation of the 2015 queen, Miss Kayler DeShan Holden, who was escorted into the ball room by the club’s vice president, Beau Tureaud. Miss Holden had the honor of selecting her successor from this year’s debutante coterie, who when formally presented, placed a capsule containing their name into a Crystal Urn near the royal platform.

Debutantes escorted into the ballroom by club members were Misses, Tanesha Elaine Bryant, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lionel Foster; Amyriah Nyjel Campbell, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Corey Campbell; Morgan T. Dixon, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Rolland Dixon; Kennedi Danielle Greenwood, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Roy Greenwood; Christian Lanae Lyons, daughter of Beau and Mrs. Lyons, Jr.; and Kayla Joi Woods, daughter of Beau and Mrs. Woods.

Because her name was drawn from the Crystal Urn by the 2015 queen, Miss Woods reigned as queen over Friday’s festivities.

The 2016 queen was escorted around the ballroom floor by Beau James K. Bonds, club president, who then led the royal entourage from the ballroom and into Beau Brummell Club history.

Following this, the club’s traditional waltz was performed by the members and their ladies before general dancing and dining began.

The ball theme was developed by the John E. Rousseau Jr. Theme committee composed of Messrs. Bonds, Boveland, Carter, Davis, Ellis, Harris, Parquet and Tureaud.

Musical entertainment for the evening was provided by Bobby J. and Stuff Like That.