Friday, January 20, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Seventy years ago this month, a production premiered on Broadway with high expectations. But despite being based on a Pulitzer Prize-winning play by renowned playwright Elmer Rice — with additional lyrics by Harlem Renaissance poet Langston Hughes…

Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

When dancer and choreographer Maritza Mercado-Narcisse needed to come up with a title for her upcoming retrospective performance at the Marigny Opera House this weekend, she drew her inspiration from the ancient Japanese art of kintsugi — the repa…

Monday, January 09, 2017
Sunday, January 08, 2017
Friday, January 06, 2017
Thursday, January 05, 2017
Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Monday, December 26, 2016

New Orleans ensemble Goat in the Road Productions has been a part of the city’s theater scene since 2008, and although its connection to the city is strong — the company regularly partners with local arts and culture organizations, and the Goat in…

Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 08, 2016
Wednesday, December 07, 2016
Tuesday, December 06, 2016
Monday, December 05, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Saturday, November 26, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016

"Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas: The Musical," comes to the Saenger Theater this month. Audiences look forward to familiar hits like "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch" and "Welcome Christmas," while the Grinch looks forward to … being awfu…

Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Saturday, November 12, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016

If you suspect George Brant’s one-act, one-actor play “Grounded,” currently receiving a challenging but chilling production at the Southern Rep, is another routine pro-soldier, anti-war drama, you better check those preconceptions at the door.

Wednesday, November 09, 2016

“Tour Detour,” featuring noted actors Harold Sylvester and Kenneth Brown Jr. and written by New Orleans playwright Harold Ellis Clark, is receiving its world premiere in a co-production between Ashe Cultural Arts Center and HEC Communications.

Monday, November 07, 2016
Wednesday, November 02, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016

“Freud’s Last Session,” running through Nov. 20 at Le Petit Théâtre du Vieux Carré, is a two-character play that imagines a fictional meeting between psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud and a young C.S. Lewis, the author and theologian best known for “The…

Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016

This powerful one-woman show follows an Air Force fighter pilot whose unexpected pregnancy has her reassigned to an air-conditioned trailer near Las Vegas where she maneuvers remote-control drones in Afghanistan.