Beau Brummell celebrated 77 years of the club’s affinity for perfection in attire, culture, social correctness and the highest standards of Carnival ball affairs, Friday, Feb. 10, in the Mardi Gras Ballroom of Copeland Towers.

Through this year’s theme, “She,” the club’s patron, George Bryan Brummell, was asked to oversee the 2020 election. With his usual air of precision, high standards, and his quest for perfection, Beau Brummell fulfilled his duties flawlessly, and “She” won. When ask who “She” is, he looked toward the Royal Platform and with a smile said, “She” is each one of the five lovely debutantes.

Formally opening the evening’s affair, ball captain, Mr. Wilson C. Boveland presented the master of ceremonies, Dr. Reginald A. Parquet. With the orchestra playing the melody from “Hail to the Chief” in the background, “Beau” Parquet, as the members are noted, invited the guests to abandon all worry and care as he proceeded through the narration.

Presenting the members and their ladies, Dr. Parquet first introduced Mr. Elwood T. Davis, who has been a member of the club since 1984. Each member was introduced as "Beau” and presented in the chronological order of their membership in the club. Following Beau Davis were Messrs. Benny G. Harris, James K. Bonds, Dr. Parquet, Wilson C. Boveland, Jeffery D. Jackson, Benjamin Stove Jr., Edward L. Wells Jr., Washington Wells, Dr. Press L. Robinson, Shedrick E. Sublett, Alfred J. Sanders, Warren Lyons Jr., Larry J. Carter, Ezickiel D. Nash, Warner A. Tureaud, John K. Etter, Roland Ellis, Wayne E. Woods, Michael Riley and Joseph F. White Sr. (honorary member).

During the tableau, the club paid special homage to Beau Stove Jr., for his outstanding contributions to his family, community, the Beau Brummell Club and the nation.

One of the distinguishing highlights of the ball was the presentation of the 2016 queen, Miss Kayla Joi Woods, who was escorted into the ballroom by the club’s vice president, Beau Tureaud. Ms. Woods was attended to by her ladies-in waiting, Misses Kaitlyn Gabrielle Young, daughter of Mr. Daryl Young and Ms. Marquette Washington; and Kyndall Jordan Woods, daughter of Beau Woods and Mrs. Gwendolyn Woods.

Miss Woods had the honor of selecting her successor from this year’s five debutantes, who when formally presented, placed a capsule containing their name into a crystal urn near the royal platform.

Debutantes escorted into the ballroom by club members were:

Misses Jayla Treniece Brown, daughter of Mr. Wellington Brown III and Mrs. Derricka Jones; Layci Jeneen Fields, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lathan Fields; Alexis Yvonne Moore, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Lee Moore III; Maya LaRae Patterson, daughter of Mr. Latroy Patterson and Ms. Gabriella Smith; and Maya Ann Weber, daughter of Mr. Michael Morris and Ms. Sherilyn Weber.

With heightened suspense and the spotlight on the 2016 queen, Miss Maya Ann Weber's name was drawn from the crystal urn. Miss Weber began her reign as the 2017 queen of the Beau Brummell club and presided over Friday’s festivities.

Beau Bonds, club president, presented the queen to ball guests and escorted her around the ballroom floor. The debutantes paid homage to the queen by performing a specially choreographed dance in her honor. He then led her majesty and her royal entourage from the ballroom and into Beau Brummell Club history. Following her departure, the club’s traditional waltz was performed by the members and their ladies before general dancing and dining began.

The ball theme was developed by the John E. Rousseau Jr. Theme committee, composed of Messrs. Bonds, Boveland, Carter, Davis, Ellis, Harris, Parquet and Tureaud.

The band, Bobby J. and Stuff Like That, provided the musical entertainment for the evening.