Inking Care and Characters

Healing Hands

In 1998, the Spirit of Charity Foundation, dedicated to continuing the mission and legacy of Charity Hospital, created “The Spirit of Charity Award.” It is presented annually to a physician, whose career began or was nurtured in Charity Hospital and who has made a significant contribution to medicine. This year the foundation tapped Dr. Bennett deBoisblanc, LSU, Pulmonary/Critical Care, as the award’s 18th recipient.

Supporters flocked to the JW Marriott for the 7 p.m. cocktails, followed by dinner — shrimp remoulade salad, seared filet and a lemon torte — an hour later. “Black tie optional” was the dress code. Seven sponsors teamed for the event, including LSU Health Foundation and Orleans Parish Medical Society. Proceeds were designated for the University Medical Center Urban Farm Project.

Headliners were SOCF executive director and University Medical Center New Orleans chief medical officer Dr. Peter DeBlieux (with wife Karen), who emceed the program; Drs. Stephen Kantrow and Karen DeSalvo (with respective spouses Kim and Dr. Jay), who spoke about Dr. deBoisblanc; and LSU Health Science Center School of Medicine Dean Dr. Steve Nelson (with Julie) and Dr. Raju Thomas of Tulane University School of Medicine, who presented the “Healing Hands” crystal award and a framed print of Charity Hospital to the honoree on behalf of their schools of medicine.

More notables within a gathering of 350 were Barbara Fredricksen, wife of Dr. deBoisblanc; guest of honor Dr. Fred Allison Jr.; and past Spirit of Charity recipients Drs. Gerald Berenson with Joan, Frank Incaprera with daughter Cathy Flynn, D. Luke Glancy with Cynthia, Charles “Bo” Sanders with Julia, the above Karen DeSalvo with Dr. Jay, Joseph Biundo Jr. with Mary, and Raoul Rodriguez with Mari.

Drs. Berenson, Incaprera (board president) and Glancy answer to board members of SOCF, as do dinner attendees Sally Duplantier, Dr. Paul Friedlander with Jessica, Dr. Myra Kleinpeter, Dr. Sally Knight, Neal Kling with Suzanne, Donna Richardson, Dr. Perry Rigby with Barbara, Malcolm Schwarzenbach III, Gene Sausse, Malcolm Schwarzenbach, Eve Vavrick, and Harold Weis with Leah. Bill Masterson, UMCNO president and CEO, mingled, along with Dr. John (UMCNO) and Gaynell Hunt, Dr. Robert Maupin (UMCNO), Dr. R. Dean Yount (OPMS), event Chairwoman/SOCF Stacy Gerhold-Marvin, and JT Hannan (SOCF) and Katherine.

Additional features were the floral arrangements by Villere’s Florist, the musical entertainment by the Tim Laughlin Trio, and the photos taken of attendees during the event that were displayed on a screen. Accolades about the honoree were the high point of the evening with Dr. Stephen Kantrow praising his teaching, compassion with patients and reliability, and Dr. Karen DeSalvo, saying deBoisblanc embodies “what it means to be a clinician, an educator and a researcher/a scholar.” Dr. Nelson also added words of praise.

When Dr. deBoislanc gave his speech, attention was rapt. He summarized the tributes with “To be honored by your peers, such is this award, is truly the greatest of honors.”

Homing In

“What a remarkably designed home with a welcoming energy” was one of the many laudatory remarks about the venue: the newly built Uptown home of Patrick and Kendall Winingder Schindler. It was the site (and sight!) for a cocktail reception and fundraiser to benefit the Youth Empowerment Project.

Situated both inside and outside, the party flow was comfortable. An almost perfect fall night added to the overall ambiance, as guests marveled at the new house and its features. Floral embellishment came from centerpieces of green hydrangeas, white roses and mums, along with succulents. The John Parker Trio set the night to cheerful music.

Making rounds were Dian and Tom Winingder, Susu Kearney, Deborah Peters, Pierre and Allison Stouse, Margaret Beer, Kate Friedler, Heidi and Tripp Friedler, Nan and Britt Galloway, Melissa Gibbs, and chefs Donald Link and Stephen Stryjewski, who catered. The chefs’ hors d’oeuvre array was extensive and full of luscious taste treats.

From YEP came executive director Melissa Sawyer, deputy director Jerome Jupiter, director of programs Darrin McCall, and board members Carol Asher (president), Ben Allen, and hostess Kendall. The project is a nonprofit organization, which engages underserved young people through community-based mentoring education and employment readiness programs. YEP served more than 1,200 people last year. One of the programs is the Work & Learn Center and its bicycle repair training.

Fittingly, the door prize raffle was a Brooklyn Cruiser (provided by Kendall) that was refurbished by YEP Bike Works.

Light the Candles!

“Happy Birthday, Mr. Faulkner!,” the Faulkner Society’s fundraising event, was presented by The Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, Louisiana State Museum, and One Book, One New Orleans on a recent Sunday afternoon in The Cabildo, Jackson Square. Representatives of sponsors included Rosemary James and Joseph DeSalvo of Faulkner House, Tad Bartlett, Megan Holt, Ron and Anne Simms Pincus (she’s the society’s chairwoman), Garner Robinson, Susanne Scovern and Jennifer Johnson, Josephine Sacabo and Dalt Wonk, and Joyce and Steve Wood of Nashville, Tennessee. Patrons were numerous.

Several individuals were slated as guests of honor. They were actors Michael Arata, Camille McEwen and David Dahlgren, who gave a performance reading of William Faulkner’s “The Reivers”; Anne Gisleson, who read from her new book, “The Futilitarians”; visiting author Susan Dodd from North Carolina; and Grayce deNoia Bochak, the artist who created the 2017 Faulkner painting that was auctioned. Anne Pincus was the winning bidder.

Rosemary James, society co-founder, and Joycelyn Roberts prepared an amazing buffet menu that included, of course, a birthday cake. Yummy chocolate! Mint juleps were served in engraved silver julep cups and given as patron favors.

Keeping good times going, there was an “After Party.” It was in the Faulkner House and featured a signing by Gisleson, bubbly, and almond cake petits fours created for the Faulkner Society by patron Marnie Carmichael.