Mystic queens’ luncheon

Former queens of the Mystic Club gathered for luncheon at the Queen Anne-style home of Mrs. George Ransdell Montgomery, who answers to Anne. The co-hostesses were her daughter, Mrs. William F. Grace, Anne, along with Mrs. Chesley Hines Jr., Phyllis, and Mrs. William R. Forrester Jr., Regan. Others in attendance were Mmes. Morrell Feltus Trimble (the senior queen, 1963), Montgomery, Louis McDaniel Freeman (Judy), Ronald James French, John Giffen Weinmann, Richard L. Simmons (who reigned as Mrs. Donald J. Nalty), Roswell King Milling (Anne), John Denechaud Charbonnet, Susan Shaffer Peters, William Barrett Conway, Michael Joseph Rapier, Howard A. Nelson Jr., Louis L. Frierson, Walter C. Flower, Paul M. Haygood, David Blair Favrot, A. Peyton Bush III, Nathaniel P. Phillips Jr., Hunter Pierson, David Pipes Milling (Susan), Grace, Hines, Lee Richards McMillan II, Richard L. Strub, Forrester, Charles Buck Mayer, John P. Laborde, Edgar A.G. Bright III, Thomas Dugan Westfeldt II, William H. Hines (Mary), John M. Eastman, Kenneth H. Beer, Louis M. Freeman Jr. (Courtney), Michael B. White and Robert James Whann IV, who reigned in 2017.

Prior to sitting for the luncheon, the most recent majesty, Leah Whann, was hailed by the Mystic Club captain, who dropped a few hints about who her successor will be. Then, Anne Montgomery Grace raised a toast to him.