Stake Out for Justice Luncheon

With funds raised to make New Orleans a safer place, the annual New Orleans Police and Justice Foundation Luncheon lured legions to the Grand Ballroom of the Sheraton Hotel. More than 500 people responded to the invitation that was extended by the foundation and listed First NBC Bank as the Presenting Sponsor. Bank President and CEO Ashton J. Ryan Jr. gave brief remarks.

Additional top sponsoring forces came under the names of Chief’s Cabinet, the Frank B. Stewart Jr. Foundation; and Deputy Chief’s Cabinet, Elizabeth Boh, Freeport-McMoRan Foundation, Gustaf W. McIlhenny Foundation, HCA MidAmerica Division, and the Stanley W. Ray Philanthropic and Civic Trust.

And that was just for starters. Four additional categories showed their $upport.

Another draw, along with the purpose of the event, was for guests to turn an attentive ear to New Orleans Police Superintendent Michael Harrison, who spoke passionately about leading the Police Department in a unified manner and focused direction. Support for his remarks was formidable.

And then there were the honorees: The Helis Foundation — Corporate Responsibility Award, which was accepted by President David A. Kerstein and presented by Sandra S. Shilstone, 2014 NOPJF board chairwoman, who made the welcome remarks at the outset of the program and the later farewell address; and Robert “Bob” Simms and Larry Lane — Ebbert Award, and presented by Nathaniel Weaver. Awardees Simms and Lane were recognized for their work on SafCam NOLA.

A special recognition went to Officer Jonathan Smith, a New Orleans police officer, who was shot in the line of duty last year. Superintendent Harrison presented his award.

More highlights were the recognition of the Arnaud’s Teddy Bear Program benefitting the NOPD and the presence of recruits from the department’s classes of numbers 171 and 172. Displays were provided by the Canine Unit and the Mounted Police.

Adding their in-attendance support were NOPJF board Chairman Robert W. “Bob” Brown (who gave the closing remarks), Frank Stewart Jr. of the above foundation, John Eastman of Auto-Chlor Services LLC, Archie and Katie Casbarian of Arnaud’s, Cynthia Molyneaux of The Moffett Family Foundation, and Aimee Freeman of Aimee Freeman Consulting. Melanie Talia answers to the NOPJF title of CEO. She opened the program and Sergeant Walter Powers Jr. of the department followed with the opening prayer.

Also noted were Orleans Parish District Attorney Leon Cannizzaro, Orleans Parish Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Councilwoman Susan Guidry, James and Erica Reiss, the above Sandra S. “Sandy”Shilstone and husband Mackie, Dean Falgoust of Freeport McMoRan Copper & Gold, Judge Karen and Stephen Herman, and from Latter & Blum Inc., owner and CEO Bob Merrick and President Rick Haase.

Along with the importance of the event were notes of levity. The Tom Fischer Duo added musical impetus and the table centerpieces centered around the “Back to the Blue” theme. Blue bags contained NOPJF scarves, Mardi Gras cups, and, of course, beads.

Leukemia Cup Regatta

Another pow-wow with a purpose was the 2015 Peake BMW Leukemia Cup Regatta Kickoff Party held at the Southern Yacht Club in anticipation of the March 21-22 Regatta on Lake Pontchartrain. The come-on was “Raise a sail and raise funds to help find a cure for blood cancers.” On March 21, an open-to-the public gala at the yacht club will raise more money for the regatta. Get out your credit cards.

The Mississippi and Louisiana Chapter of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society was the hosting organization for the kickoff celebration at which 4-year-old Lucy Boudreaux was hailed as the 2015 Honored Skipper. At age 2, she was diagnosed with Pre-B Standard ALL (Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia), but, after treatment at Children’s Hospital for two years, she is doing well. She was accompanied by her parents, Jude and Karen Boudreaux.

Further notables were Mark Walsh, who is working toward a $50,000 goal to name a Leukemia & Lymphoma research grant portfolio in memory of his father, Mark Walsh Sr.; Eric Dupuis, of title sponsor Peake BMW; 2014 top fundraiser Guy Brierre, board Vice Chairman of the LLS Mississippi and Louisiana Chapter; chapter executive director Alberta Stoker; regatta Chairman Allen Borne; and SYC Commodore Merlin Wilson.

And, regatta sponsor Chairman Bob Kottler, Ron Gueldner of Peake BMW, Pam Brierre with the above Guy, and, from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, board Chairman Judge Mike North, the above Alberta Stoker, and past Chairman Dito Patron.

Also, and all with a title or two concerning the event or the society, Cheryl Rodrigue, Blaine and Joanne Gahagan, Bill Wright, Jim and Joy Wade, Bob Maher, Burt and Karen Benrud, Angie and Dickie Provensal, and Dave Erwin.

Appetizers and a cash bar added fine food and drink, while folks enjoyed smooth social “sailing.”

Good Deeds

On a recent Sunday evening, Touro Synagogue presented its prestigious L’Chaim Award to Susan and Lou Good at a dinner chaired by Phyllis and Jack Alltmont (the master of ceremonies), Ana and Juan Gershanik, Carmen and Andy Jacobs, Laurie and Ricky Rosenberg, Kathy and Hal Shepard, Julie and Scott Silbert, Ellen and Marc Yellin, and Renee Zack. The above Scott Silbert also answers to Touro Synagogue president.

Further notables were Rabbi Alexis Berk attending with husband Bob, Cantor David Mintz with spouse Deborah, and Rabbi Emeritus David Goldstein with Shannie. All praised Susan and Lou for their significant contributions to both the Crescent City and Jewish communities.

Among the event’s significant features were Rommel’s Catering, Glenda Ivy’s beautiful hydrangea arrangements, Igor Cherny’s classic jazz numbers, and a faux investigative video tribute by the Goods’ son-in-law, Lee Zurik, that was full of humor. More family members included the Goods’ children and grandchildren.

Applauding all the accolades were Diane and Alan Franco, Carol Good (Lou’s mom), Jill and Dave Israel, Betty Kohn, Ruth and Larry Kullman, Sherrie and Alan Leventhal, Laura and Walter Levy, and others, who thanked the evening’s underwriters, and congratulated the awardees on their Good deeds.