Training sessions begin soon for volunteers wishing to help children to learn to read.

Start The Adventure In Reading tutors volunteer after school or on Saturday mornings in Orleans, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Tammany and Tangipahoa parishes. They work one-on-one with public school second-graders who are reading below grade level. The one-on-one focus is a powerful teaching dynamic, and the bond that forms between tutor and child fosters the learning process.

The STAIR program provides each child with professionally designed curriculum materials, school supplies, healthy snacks, holiday celebrations, trained staff at each tutoring location and lots of individual attention.

Volunteer training takes only two hours and no experience is necessary. For information or to register for training, call Elizabeth Artigues at (504) 899-0820 or visit www.stairnola.org.

The schedule of training sessions is:

  • Thursday, Sept. 10, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., St. Augustine’s Episcopal Church, 3412 Haring Road, Metairie
  • Saturday, Sept. 12, 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Monday, Sept. 14, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Covington Presbyterian Church, 222 S. Jefferson Ave., Covington
  • Wednesday, Sept. 16, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Saturday, Sept. 19, 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Woodland Presbyterian Church, 5824 Berkley Drive, New Orleans
  • Monday, Sept. 21, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Thursday, Sept. 24, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Covington Presbyterian Church, 222 S. Jefferson Ave., Covington
  • Saturday, Sept. 26, 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Wednesday, Sept. 30, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., St. Paul’s United Methodist Church, 6500 Jefferson Highway, Harahan.
  • Monday, Oct. 5, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Tuesday, Oct. 13, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans
  • Wednesday, Oct. 21, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Land Building, St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church, 1535 State St., New Orleans.