HARVEY — Two Jefferson Parish Public school system teachers were selected as fellows by the National Science Teachers Association.

Shelia Banks, of John Ehret High School, and Leslie St. Julien, of Truman Middle School, are two of 11 Fellows from Louisiana and 244 science educators nationwide to be given the honor.

Banks and Julien will participate in a year-long professional development program designed to promote quality science teaching and improve teacher content knowledge.

“High quality science instruction is so critical for the future success of our students,” Superintendent James Meza Jr. said in a news release. “This fellowship program is a great opportunity for two of our talented science educators to further develop their craft and get even better as teachers and leaders in their schools.”