Hear ye Uptown, downtown and Algiers! The Committee for a Better New Orleans is calling for nominations for its annual Diana Lewis Citizen Participation Award, which recognizes a person or organization that has empowered citizens to be positive instruments of change.

The award is aptly named for Lewis, a powerhouse in the world of civic participation. A veteran volunteer, Lewis has served the city with organizations including United Way, the Bureau of Governmental Research, the Metropolitan Area Committee, the Southeast Louisiana Girl Scouts Council and the Greater New Orleans Foundation.

“Civic participation means a better and stronger New Orleans,” said Anthony Carter, director of finance and administration for the Downtown Development District and CBNO co-chairman. “Our mission is to bring all voices to the table to create a brighter future for all New Orleanians, and this award salutes those individuals and organizations that are making this happen.”

Previous winners include the Neighborhoods Partnership Network; the Orleans Public Education Network; Carol Bebelle, executive director of Ashé Cultural Center; Beth Shapiro Lavin; VAYLA New Orleans; and Joel Myers.

Candidates for the award have demonstrated leadership in harnessing ways to make New Orleans a better place to live. Nominees cannot be elected officials or representatives of political organizations.

“For many years, CBNO has partnered with a number of outstanding community organizations with tremendous results,” said Keith Twitchel, CBNO president. “We strive to involve citizens with their government, so not only are our elected officials hearing the people but the people are helping to produce a more responsive and informed government.”

Nominations may be submitted through Tuesday, April 21. The form is available at www.cbno.org or by emailing info@cbno.org. Nominations may be submitted by mail to CBNO, 4902 Canal St. Suite 300, New Orleans LA 70119.

Roast of the Town

Gary LaGrange, president and CEO of the Port of New Orleans, will be in the hot seat when the Delgado Community College Foundation holds its annual Roast of the Town at 7 p.m. Friday, April 24, at the Harrah’s New Orleans Theatre, 8 Canal St.

The event benefits scholarships and programs at Delgado, and roasters will include Conrad Appel, state senator, District 9; C.J. Blache; Bernard Charbonnet; Captain A. J. Gibbs; Ted Falgout; and Joe Toomy, former state representative, District 85.

The event will include a reception, silent and live auctions and dinner. Actor and media personality John “Spud” McConnell will serve as master of ceremonies. Live auction items will include a weeklong condo stay at the Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina, and a golf getaway to Fort Myers, Florida.

Attendees must be 21 or older. For information about tickets and table packages, contact Nita Hutter Meins at fndsupport@dcc.edu or call (504) 671-5412. Tickets may be purchased online at www.dcc.edu/alumni-giving/foundation/roast.aspx. Information also is available at www.nocoa.org.

Algiers Kiwanis

Gary Lagrange, president and CEO of the Port of New Orleans will speak at the Kiwanis Club of Algiers meeting at 6 p.m. Thursday, April 16, at the Aurora Tennis and Swim Club, 5244 Gen. Meyer Ave. Guests are welcome. For information, call (504) 391-0667.

The club meets from 7 a.m. to 8 a.m. on Thursdays except on the third Thursday when it hosts an evening meeting from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Congrats to St. Pius board

The board of St. Pius X Catholic School received the 2015 Outstanding Board Award from the National Catholic Educational Association for its dedication and commitment to excellence.

The board’s 13 members serve as an advisory team to the Rev. Patrick J. Williams, pastor of St. Pius; Pamela W. Fulham, principal; and Deirdre Macnamara, assistant principal.

“St. Pius X’s school board continues to develop innovative ways to improve the academic and religious experiences for its students,” board President Todd Bourgeois said.

Dancing with local stars

Community leaders will compete with Young Audiences performing artists at the sixth annual Dancing for the Arts Gala at 6:30 p.m. Friday, April 17, at Harrah’s Casino Theatre. Modeled after the television show “Dancing with the Stars,” the event will include an open bar, hors d’oeuvres and dinner.

Competitors include Dr. Adil Fatakia; Tracee Dundas, founder and creative director of Fashion Week New Orleans; Marguerite Moisio, Whitney National Bank vice president; Miranda Restovic, director of the Louisiana Endowment of the Humanities; Nadine Ramsey, New Orleans City Council member; and Michelle Craig, attorney and philanthropist.

Emcee for the evening will be WDSU anchor Camille Whitworth, and judges include meteorologist Damon Singleton, community activist Ivy Kushner and Fox sports journalist Jen Hale.

Tickets are $100, and patron tickets and ticket packages are available. Those who do not attend may vote for their favorite dancer at $1 per vote with a $10 minimum. Votes will help celebrity dancers earn the coveted People’s Choice Award.

All proceeds benefit Young Audiences of Louisiana. For information, visit www.dancingfortheartsnola.com.

Lynne Jensen writes about New Orleans community events and people. Contact her at jensencolumn@gmail.com.)