De La Salle wrestlers win divisional championship _lowres

Photo provided by De La Salle High School -- The wrestling team from De La Salle High School in New Orleans is the state Division III champion. In the front row, from left, are Kaleb Scheurmann, Glenn Gebo, Jamar Brown, Grant Gebo, Patrick Krake, Sean Barbarin, Jeff Hefner and Gabe Tujague. In the second row are Peyton Smith, Akeem Terrel, Raekwon Thomas, Ryan Hamrick, Conrad Wyre, Zennon Park, Alex Ormond, Adam Hedrick and Landon Dorsey. In the third row are Charles Carr, Trenton Anderson, Jamiran James, Donté Lewis and Walter Johnson. In the fourth row are Jeremiah James, Eric Hamrick and Jalen Haydel.

Even with no individual winners, the wrestling team at De La Salle High School in New Orleans won the Division III state championship, for the first time since the 1970s.

Placing second in their weight categories were Landon Dorsey, Ryan Hamrick, Jeremiah James and Conrad Wyre. Placing third were Jeffrey Hefner and Raekwon Thomas. Grant Gebo and Eric Hamrick finished fourth in their weight categories, and Sean Barbarin finished fifth.

“We talked about the importance of being a team all year,” head coach Rod Cusachs said, “and the way the boys wrestled this year showed they got it.”

Assistant coaches include Bobby Ledoux, Jason Hamrick, Spencer Simpson and Alex Martin.