BLOOD DRIVE: A student at Archbishop Chapelle High School will receive an Ochsner Scholarship in May, with the size of the scholarship depending on the number of people who participate in a blood drive on Thursday, April 9.

A blood drive will be held from 6:45 a.m. to noon April 9 in the parking lot behind the school at 8800 Veterans Memorial Blvd., Metairie. Friends and relatives may donate on behalf of the school, or a particular student, at any Ochsner Blood Bank location. For each donation made, Ochsner will contribute $10 to Chapelle’s scholarship fund.

For more information, go to or contact Rachel Fryer, communications director, at (504) 467-3105, ext. 121, or

ST. CHARLES CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL: Thirty students from St. Charles Catholic High School in LaPlace participated in the 2015 South Central Louisiana District Literary Rally.

Three seniors placed first overall: Emily Bergeron, advanced math—functions and statistics; Amy Kugler, journalism; and Kylie Revere, art.

Juniors Amanda Riviere and Jeanne Roussel received honorable mentions in art.

The following students qualified for state rally and will compete at LSU on April 25: Shana Breaux, biology; Wesley Melancon, chemistry; Breigh Peytavin, physical science; Lela Hill, physics; John Waldron, English I; Dominique Perilloux, English II; Isabel Gort, English III; Brittney Champagne, English IV; Amy Kugler, journalism I; Hailey Louque, French I; Hannah Babin, French II; Madeleine Murphy, French III; Claude Hill, Spanish II; Shaun Borne, Spanish III; Alexis Tran, advanced math—precalculus; Emily Bergeron, advanced math—functions and statistics; Heaven Mamou, algebra I; Brittney Jacob, calculus; Victoria Becnel, geometry; Connor Pecoul, civics; Mya Leake, world history; and Emily Weidert, food and nutrition.

LUSHER CHARTER SCHOOL: The voices of two Lusher Charter School students were among 20,000 that harmonized during the National Honor Choir Grand Night of Singing in Salt Lake City, Utah, recently.

Olivia Keefe and Lina Leonhard rehearsed and performed with the top choral singers in the country

The Grand Night of Singing was a project of the American Choir Directors Association. Performers included the Mormon Tabernacle Choir; Grammy-winner Sylvia McNair; Santino Fontana, of “Frozen,”; the USAF Singing Sergeants; Lusher choir directors Beth Rota and Natalie True; and thousands of other choir directors.

JEWISH COMMUNITY DAY SCHOOL: The leadership and management of the Jewish Community Day School will benefit from its participation in an 18-month curriculum created by the Partnership for Excellence in Jewish Education to solidify the financial health of small schools.

The curriculum, called the Governance & Fundraising Academy Focus, is supported by funding from The Avi Chai Foundation, and is based on the partnership’s many years of experience and knowledge of best practices in Jewish day school sustainability. Jewish Community Day School representatives will take part in targeted workshops and individualized coaching to create the short- and long-term initiatives needed to solidify the school’s financial health.

Avi Chai is a private foundation endowed by Zalman C. Bernstein that is committed to the perpetuation of the Jewish people, Judaism, and the centrality of the State of Israel to the Jewish people.

According to Sharon Pollin, head of school, gaining entrance to the GFA Focus is a huge statement of belief in the viability of JCDS, which is located at 3747 West Esplanade Ave. in Metairie’s Goldring Woldenberg Campus.

“Knowing that PEJE and Avi Chai believe in us, our participation in PEJE Focus will propel us to even greater heights in the areas of governance, professional leadership and fundraising,” Pollin said. “It will successfully serve to engage our leadership and steward our school toward strategic management of our fiscal health and long-term success in fulfilling our mission, vision, and philosophy.” For information, visit or call (504) 887-4091.

DOMINICAN NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY: At St. Mary’s Dominican High School, 72 students have been inducted into the National Honor Society. The faculty advisers for the National Honor Society at Dominican are Mazie Stewart and Ellen Fihlman. Membership into a National Honor Society is based on the four pillars of character, scholarship, leadership and service. All chapters’ eligibility requirements must include attending school as a sophomore, junior or senior; maintaining a minimum 3.0 average; demonstrating volunteer or service hours; preserving an excellent record of behavior in and out of school; and participating in leadership roles in co-curricular and/or community activities.