Crescent City community photo gallery for March 19, 2015 _lowres

Photo provided by Jesuit High School -- Sonya Duh, director of the school of mass communication at Loyola University in New Orleans, congratulates Jae Kweon, of Jesuit High School, left, winner of the Silver Scribe Grand Award.

Jae Kweon, of Jesuit High School in New Orleans, won the Silver Scribe Grand Award in the annual Tom Bell Silver Scribe Competition for area high school journalists held Feb. 28 at Loyola University in New Orleans. Kweon, a sophomore, also won first place in the Audubon Park photography contest and second place in the People on Campus photography contest. Jesuit’s school newspaper, The Blue Jay, also won best overall newspaper.

“I’m proud of how our entire staff performed at the competition,” Blue Jay adviser Ted Mahne said. “It’s gratifying how all of the participants had remarkable opportunities to learn from and have their work evaluated by top local journalists and teachers.”

More than 45 students from five New Orleans schools took part in the daylong competition co-sponsored by Loyola’s School of Mass Communication and the New Orleans Press Club. The event is named after the late Tom Bell, a longtime Loyola journalism teacher and a former Press Club president who founded the competition. Professional journalists served as judges for various categories, including best news story, best news photograph and best overall newspaper.

St. Martin’s Episcopal School in Metairie won the sweepstakes award for most points amassed by students from one school.

Winners of individual events were:

AUDUBON PARK PHOTOGRAPHY: Jae Kweon, Jesuit High School, first; Rachael Bertucci, Grace King High School, second; Bonnie Cash and Levi Thompson, both from St. Martin’s Episcopal School, tied for third.

PHOTOS OF PEOPLE ON CAMPUS: Levi Thompson, St. Martin’s, first; Jae Kweon, Jesuit, second; Taylor Biu, St. Martin’s, third.

NEWSWRITING: Craig Beatty, Lusher High School, first; Haley Bayer, St. Martin’s, second; Alan Merida, Brother Martin High School, and Jason LaHatte, Jesuit, tied for third.

FEATURE WRITING: Jason LaHatte, Jesuit, first; Gigi Herberg and Jordan Fresneda, both from St. Martin’s, tied for second; Donald Barret, Jesuit, third.

CRITICAL REVIEW: Cheyenne Dwyer, St. Martin’s, first; Haley Bayer, St. Martin’s, and Craig Beatty, Lusher, tied for second; Riley Kirkpatrick, St. Martin’s, third.

HEADLINE/SUMMARY WRITING: Luke Jeanfreau, St. Martin’s, first; Antonio Imbornone, St. Martin’s, second; Samah Hammad, Grace King, third.

SPORTS: Samah Hammad, Grace King, first; Juveriya Farooqui, Grace King, second; Antonio Imbornone, St. Martin’s, third.

EDITORIAL: Bailey Taylor, St. Martin’s, first; Allan Merida, Brother Martin, second; Whitney Appel, St. Martin’s, and Haley Bayer, Grace King, tied for third.