St. Charles Parish honors its employee of the year _lowres

Photo provided by St. Charles Parish—From left are St. Charles Parish President Larry Cochran; employee of the year Randy Breaux Jr.; Civil Service Board Chairman Ronnie Madere; and civil service boardmembers Jimmy Breaux, Ralph Wilderson and Sara Champion.

Randy Breaux Jr., a wastewater technician for St. Charles Parish, was honored as the parish employee of the year during the parish’s civil service awards program June 9 at the Edward A. Dufresne Community Center in Luling.

Breaux, of Des Allemands, is a 13-year employee of the St. Charles Parish wastewater department, where he started as a laborer before moving up to a wastewater technician I and ultimately a wastewater technician II.

St. Charles Parish Personnel Officer Sandra Zimmer said Breaux is a perfect example of someone who has worked hard to better both himself and his co-workers.

“In addition to his daily duties, Randy assists his co-workers to prepare for testing for required certification,” said Zimmer “This is just one of the many selfless acts that I have been told about Randy and his willingness to help others.”

This year’s nominating committee included Jacob Dufrene Sr., Laurie Dufrene, Holly Fonseca, Jack Landry, Nicholas Moliere, Travis Ramos and Courtney Saucier.

Awards for 30 years of service went to Roland Champagne, Rhys Kinler and Sandra Zimmer.

Awards for 25 years of service went to David Abadie, Jeanne Arabie, Valarie Berthelot, Ruben Bossier, Rusty Champagne, Sara Champion, Laurie Dufrene, Jamie Hymel, Kenneth Lorio, Joseph Smith, Darren Territa and Wendy Watkins.

Awards for 20 years of service went to Nicole Breaux, Robert Brown, Blake Chiasson, Carl Kinler, Cynthia Robert, Merrick Rousselle Jr. and Steve Zeringue.

Awards for 15 years of service went to Herman Cortez, Christopher Dufour, Jacob Dufrene Sr., Robert Lay, Ellis Lemoine, Suzanne Porche, Randy Rogers, Brandon Touchard and Stephen Truitt.

Awards for 10 years of service went to Abel Dufrene, Lee Hebert, Bonnie White and Sharon Wright.