The National Council of Jewish Women gave community activist Julie Schwam Harris its Hannah G. Solomon Award during a recent luncheon at Westin Canal Place.

Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children and families by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.

The annual award is presented to people who have been catalysts for social change, bringing about important community programs and services through their leadership in a volunteer capacity. Past honorees include Marjorie and Scott Cowen, Ruth Kullman, Mary Keller Zervigon, Joan Berenson, Nancy Marsiglia, Carol Wise, Phyllis Taylor, Millie Charles, Diana Lewis and Sybil Morial.

“Julie was recognized not only because of her interest, activity and stand on issues with which NCJW is in sympathy,” NCJW President June Leopold said, “but also for her aspirations and efforts to achieve a more successful, just and fair society in which people actually have a stake and the tools to participate.”

The Hannah G. Solomon Award and Luncheon was orchestrated by Chairman Madalyn Schenk, Ina Davis, Michelle Erenberg, Marjorie Bissinger, Shellye Farber, Barbara Kaplinsky, Tamara Kreinin, Ruth Kullman, Nancy Marsiglia, Dana Shepard, Sue Singer, Pamela Steeg and Nancy Timm.