ST. ANDREW’S EPISCOPAL SCHOOL: St. Andrew’s Episcopal School will dedicate a new three-story classroom building at 8:15 a.m. May 29.

Grace Hall, at the corner of Oak and Shorts streets in New Orleans, has about 10,000 square feet of teaching and learning space and will accommodate a new music room, science and math labs, homeroom classrooms, and multipurpose room.

Everyone affiliated with St. Andrew’s is welcome to attend the dedication ceremony. The school is at 8012 Oak St., New Orleans, and those coming for the ceremony should enter through the gate on Carrollton Avenue.

ACADEMY OF THE SACRED HEART: Allison MacPhaille, a senior at the Academy of the Sacred Heart, is a semifinalist in the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. She was selected as one of 565 candidates nationwide, and one of eight from Louisiana. One young man and one young woman from each state will be selected as finalists and receive an award in Washington, D.C.

NATIONAL HISTORY DAY: Students from Adams Middle School, Bonnabel High School, Helen Cox High School and Meisler Middle School will represent the Jefferson Parish Public School System in the National History Day Contest to be held June 15-19 at the University of Maryland.

The students were selected for the competition by placing first or second in the Louisiana State History Day Contest. The theme of this year’s competition was “Rights and Responsibilities in History,” and students had the option to create an exhibit, a paper, a performance, a website or a documentary.

From Bonnabel High School, Minahil Khan took first place in senior individual website for “Life Behind the Veil: Muslim Women in Pakistan.”

From Helen Cox High School, Hoang Nguyen and Cham Phan took first place in senior group performance for “Love for HOMOsapiens: The Rights of the LGBT Community.” Jack Ha, Christina Hoang, Markzavion Taylor and Diep Vo took second in senior group documentary for “Cotton Fire: The Triangle Shirtwaist Tragedy.” Also, Kevian Madison won a National History Award for “I’m in the Army Now: Women’s Rights and Responsibilities in the Military.”

From Adams Middle School, Sebina Hajarevic, Admir Hajarevic, Selma Omerbasic, Mahmut Alagic and Demir Hajarevic placed first in junior group documentary for “Human Rights Violations in the Bosnian War.” Nohemi Lainez and Pamela Caceras placed first in junior group website for “The Desegregation of the Jefferson Parish School System.”

Also from Adams, Briyana Vega-Percorina, Fernando Pavon and Ashely Caseres placed second in junior group website for “The First Ladies”; and Hadeel Kasji placed second in junior individual exhibit for “Seeds of Peace.”

From Meisler Middle School, Hasham Warrich placed second in junior individual paper for “The Rights of Jewish People: Pre and Post Nazi Era.” Also, Raneen Badr, Helen Kim, Micaela Bazile, Tiffany Cheng and Jasmine LeCesne placed second in junior group performance for “Child Labor Conference.”

The National World War II Museum provides each student finalist with $450 to help cover the cost of attending the national competition. Schools will be holding various fundraisers to cover additional costs in the next few weeks. For more information, please contact the school directly.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL OF LOUISIANA: The International School of Louisiana has been honored as one of two national recipients of the 2014 School Award for Exemplary Education of Young Men of Color by the Coalition of Schools Educating Boys of Color.

The national award recognizes innovative education practices that achieve academic success and increase graduation rates among boys of color.

Ron Walker, executive director of the Coalition of Schools Educating Boys of Color, presented the 2014 award to two schools that demonstrated sustained results over a three-year period of evaluation. ISL has a proven track record for supporting academic practices and highlighting successes in a full language-immersion public charter school, with a population consisting of two-thirds students of color. Male students of color at ISL consistently score higher than state averages on standardized tests, according to Principal Melanie Tennyson.

ISL believes that language immersion is a critical component in breaking barriers and stimulating higher levels of academic performance. More information about the school and its mission can be found at

ARCHBISHOP RUMMEL HIGH SCHOOL: The National Honor Society chapter at Archbishop Rummel High School recently added 20 members. Its chapter of the National Junior Honor Society grew by 21 members.

To be eligible for honor society membership, Rummel students must maintain an overall 3.5 average in academic subject, be active in at least two extracurricular activities, and demonstrate qualities of scholarship, character, leadership and service.

The newly inducted members of the National Honor Society are juniors Joshua Eilers, Nicholas Harrington, Jonathan Hart and Matthew Moreau and sophomores Mark Childress, Joshua Duhon, Andres Fuentes, Jayme Haydel, Justin Hieber, Robert Hudgins, Christian Hyde, Nicholas Judge, Conner Killian, Evan Klein, Trey Leblanc, Clay Ledet, Jacob Macaluso, Warren Massimini, Nicholas Neal and Peter Vu.

The new members of the National Junior Honor Society are freshmen Adrian Baron-Hyppolite, Jude Bocage, Troy Hankins, Justin Lorio, Ryan Powers, Devin Sauerhoff and Evan Thomason and eighth-graders Brandon Champagne, Daniel Cobar, Justin Connor, Gabriel Eberle, Zachary Eilers, Bradely Este, Evan Francioni, Jacob Fury, Ross Incardona, Patrick Meehan, Michael Monistere, Erik Piedy, William Reed and Nicholas Wright.