Former New Orleans City Councilman and state Rep. Troy Carter said Tuesday morning that he will run for the seat being vacated by state Sen. David Heitmeier.

Carter said he decided to run “after learning the shocking and last minute news” that Heitmeier had pulled out. Heitmeier announced last week that he would not seek a third term in office so that he could focus on his health and devote more time to his optometry practice.

Orleans Parish School Board member Leslie Ellison has also signed up to run for the seat. State Rep. Jeff Arnold is expected to enter into the race.

Also in Orleans Parish Tuesday morning, state Rep. Wesley Bishop, D-New Orleans, signed up to run for the District 4 Senate seat, which is being vacated by term-limited state Sen. Edwin Murray. Bishop will be challenged in that race by R. Erich Caulfield, a Democrat from New Orleans.

State Sen. J.P. Morrell, D-New Orleans and Karen Carter Peterson, D-New Orleans; and state Reps. Walt Leger, D-New Orleans; Helena Moreno, D-Nrew Orleans; Nick Lorusso, R-New Orleans; Joe Bouie, D-New Orleans; Neil Abramson, D-New Orleans and Chris Leopold, R-Port Sulphur all signed up to run for re-election. Of those, only Bouie had drawn a challenger by Tuesday afternoon. Eustis Guillemet Jr., a Republican from New Orleans signed up to run for Bouie’s District 97 seat, though the address listed for him on the Secretary of State’s website falls outside district lines.

Qualifying began Tuesday morning and ends on Thursday.

Candidates who have signed up for other races in Orleans Parish include:

State Represenative District 99: Ray Crawford of New Orleans, Democrat; Jimmy Harris of New Orleans, Democrat

State Represenative District 100: John Bagneris of New Orleans, Democrat; Jason Hughes of New Orleans, Democrat

State Represenative District 102: Lourdes Moran of New Orleans, Democrat; Gary Carter of New Orleans, Democrat

School Board District 1: Keith Barney of New Orleans, Democrat; Shawon Bernard of New Orleans, Democrat