Business Honors for April 3, 2016 _lowres

Drew Heaphy, of the St. Bernard Port, Harbor & Terminal District


The Greater Baton Rouge chapter of Louis A. Martinet Legal Society presented its President’s Award to Judge John Michael Guidry; A.P. Tureaud Award to Judge Erin Wilder-Doomes; Justice Revius Ortique Award to Commissioner Quintillis K. Lawrence; Ernest N. Morial Award to Rep. Edward “Ted” James; Norman C. Francis Award to Winston G. Decuir Jr.; Israel M. Augustine Award to Victor J. Suane; Earl J. Amedee Award to Tedrick Knightshead; Louis Berry Award to Kellen Mathews; and Vanue B. LaCour Award to Anderson Dotson III.

The Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance Inc. announced the winners of its 20th annual Contractor Safety Excellence Awards recognizing thousands and millions of hours worked without injury, a commitment by management to educate workers and a zero-incident culture.

Capitol Ultrasonics received the top award, the Hal G. Ginn Safety Excellence Award, for the best overall performance.

Awards were presented in four service categories, subdivided by divisions based on company size:

General Construction and Maintenance: Division I: First place, Volks Constructors; second, Regal Industrial Group; third, River Parish Maintenance. Division II: First, REPCON; second, Excel Maintenance Services; third, Pala Interstate. Division III: First, Turner Industries Group; second, Performance Contractors Inc.; third, CB&I.

Soft Craft Specialty Trade: Division I: First, Thorpe Plant Services; second, Hoist & Crane Service Group. Division II: First, Petrin Corp.; second, United States Environmental Services; third, Pentair/Tracer Construction. Division III: First, Brand Energy Solutions; second, Apache Industrial Services; third, Excel Modular Scaffold & Leasing.

Hard Craft Specialty Trade: Division II: First, Westgate LLC. Division III: First,Triad Electric and Controls; second, Maintenance Enterprises; third, ISC Constructors LLC.

Technical Support: Division I: First, JCL Safety Services LLC; second, John Lowery and Associates. Division II: First, Capitol Ultrasonics LLC; second, Guardian Compliance/SealTech Inc.; third, GE Water and Process Technologies. Division III: First, Turner Specialty Services; second, Jacobs Engineering, third, Total Safety U.S.

Cajun Constructors was selected by the Associated General Contractors of America as the first place winner in the Willis Towers Watson Construction Safety Excellence Awards for the building division over 1 million work-hour category because of its exceptional leadership in safety.


Cancer Center of Acadiana at Lafayette General has received the Outstanding Achievement Award from the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer.

The award was based on surveys conducted from July 1 to Dec. 31.


Drew Heaphy, director of administration and planning services for the St. Bernard Port, Harbor & Terminal District, was named a certified government finance officer by the Government Finance Officers Association of Louisiana.

The designation is based on passing a series of examinations covering major disciplines of public finance, along with job experience and education.