Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Lafayette area Business Honors for June 19, 2016 _lowres

Jay Shelledy


The New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute graduated 39 class members for 2016, composed of business, civic and community leaders from the 10-parish region of southeast Louisiana.

The nine-month program is designed to enhance personal leadership skills of a diverse group of people and examine issues central to advancing the greater New Orleans region.

The organization also honored two classmates with special awards for ambassadorship to the community: Dr. Jennifer Avegno, of the University Medical Center New Orleans, the Regional Leadership Award, and Frank Loria, of Personnel Consulting Group LLC, the Community Service Award.

Other program graduates are Mindy Nuñez Airhart, Southern Services and Equipment Inc.; Matthew Almon, Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann LLC; Elizabeth Bates, Camelback Ventures; Erica Beck, New Orleans Public Belt Railroad; Cheryln Boutan, East Jefferson General Hospital; Kerri Callais, Callais Ice Service Inc.; Aaron Cancienne, Postlethwaite & Netterville APAC; Michael Crane Jr., Lee Michaels Fine Jewelry; Brandon Davis, Phelps Dunbar LLP; Karen DeBlieux, Capital One Bank; Michael DePetrillo, Ochsner Health System; James Hance, Eustis Engineering; Tommy Hebert, International Matex Tank Terminals; Bryan Hodnett, DonahueFavret Contractors; Maria Huete, Junior League of New Orleans; Natalie Kaharick, New Orleans College Prep; Allison Kuhn, Dow St. Charles Operations; McKenzie Lovelace, FSC Interactive; Patrick Mansfield, Gulf Search Capital; Erin McQuade-Wright, Greater New Orleans Foundation; Colleen Monaghan, Renaissance Publishing LLC; Michelle Nailor Octave, St. James Parish Government; Lori Natividad, Space, Naval Warfare Systems Command Atlantic New Orleans; Shawn Préau, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple; Clayton Randle, Quiwa Holdings; Chantell Reed, Pace GNO; Christine Rigamer, Gambel Communications; Troy Roussel, Cox Communications; Slade Simons, Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Co.; Jyric Sims, Tulane Health System; Clay Smith, JP Morgan Chase; Jeff Teague, Greater New Orleans Inc.; Roland Vandenweghe Jr., Adams and Reese; John Voorhorst, Entergy Corp.; Thea Wall, Windsor Court; Sevetri Wilson, Solid Ground Innovations LLC; and Jill Zeringue, Louisiana Federal Credit Union.

West Jefferson Medical Center received the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines?Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award with Target: StrokeSM Honor Roll Elite.

The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment to providing the most appropriate stroke treatment, according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence, and its response time.

Anthony “Tony” Recasner, chief executive officer of the Agenda for Children, has been named by the Loyola University New Orleans Alumni Association to receive its Adjutor Hominum Award.

The award honors an outstanding graduate whose life exemplifies the values and philosophy of Jesuit education: moral character, service to humanity and integrity.

Recasner took the helm in 2011 of Agenda for Children, a nonprofit dedicated to improving conditions for Louisiana children, following a 20-year career working to reform public education in New Orleans. Recasner is co-founder of FirstLine Schools, a charter school management organization that opened the city’s first charter school and now operate five charter schools.


James E. “Jay” Shelledy, professional-in-residence and the Fred Jones Greer Jr. endowed chair at LSU’s Manship School of Mass Communication, will receive the Educator of the Year Award from the newspaper and online news division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication at the organization’s August conference.

The award honors professors for outstanding achievement in preparing journalism students, advancing journalism education and promoting career development.

For six years, students in Shelledy’s field experience class have traveled to the rural South and Washington to tell the stories of unsolved murders from more than a half-century ago. The students also investigate cases of Louisiana convicts, usually being held for life without the possibility of parole, who appear to have been convicted unfairly.

Shelledy this year expanded the class to include a 10-student statehouse bureau that has delivered 170 stories to 13 daily newspapers in Louisiana.

The Baton Rouge Area Chamber has graduated participants in its 2016 Baton Rouge Area Leadership Program class. The program prepares a diverse group of professionals for leadership positions in the community.

It focuses during a nine-month program on key issues and areas of concern such as education; diversity; city and state government; health care and social concerns; economic development; the arts and media; and the criminal justice system.

Graduates are Shannon Abney, Volunteers of America Greater Baton Rouge; Branden Barker, NAI/Latter & Blum Realtors; Haley Blakeman, Center for Planning Excellence; David Blanchard, ExxonMobil; Kim Boneno, LUBA Workers’ Comp; Jason Broha, Turner Industries; Jason Brown, Kean Miller; Matthew Caillouet, WHLC Architecture; Jody Caraccioli, Neighbors Federal Credit Union; Laura Davis, Our Lady of the Lake; Brandon DeCuir, DeCuir, Clark & Adams; Carl Dillon, Urban Restoration Enhancement Corp.; Nadine Donner, Baton Rouge Area Chamber; Uyuho Eduok, Eduok Associates; Mark Emonet, Lipsey’s LLC; Emi Gilbert, LSU Foundation; Terrence Ginn, Louisiana Board of Regents; Liz Goad, Manship Theatre; Katie Graves, Regions Bank; Ted Jones, Jones Walker LLP; Brandon Lagarde, Postlethwaite & Netterville; Tommy Langlois, Ochsner Health System; Symil LeDoux, Baton Rouge General Medical Center; Scott McKnight, BancorpSouth Insurance Services; Andrew Mouledous, Capital One Bank; Sarah Munson, Starmount Life Insurance; Ai Nguyen, Dow Chemical; Allison Reeves, Williams, Anderson, Ryan & Carroll; Theo Richards, Capital Area Transit System; Kurt Scott, Woman’s Hospital; Janet Simmons, Hope Ministries of Baton Rouge; Brian Skelton, Whitney Bank; Tiffany Stewart, Pennington Biomedical Research Center; Tommy Talley, Tommy’s TV; Akilah Taylor, United Healthcare Community Plan; Tejas Vora, Go Physical Therapy; Trey Williams, City Pork Restaurant Group; Trey Williams, Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center; and Tim Young,?HIV/AIDS Alliance for Region 2 .?

Jefferson Manor has been presented a Bronze Commitment to Quality Award from the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living for its dedication to improving the lives of residents through quality care.

Jefferson Manor may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver Achievement in Quality Award.


BNI Louisiana, a professional networking and business referral organization with nearly 50 chapters, received awards recognizing its growth and success in the state at the BNI National Conference.

The organization received the BNI Highest Net Growth in Chapters Award and Highest Net Growth in Members Award.