NUNEZ COMMUNITY COLLEGE: The Gamma Beta Phi honor society at Nunez Community College inducted new members during a ceremony Nov. 30. Members include Jacob Bianchini, Ali Charrier, Mariella DiCristina, Theresa Doty, Jonathan Frank, Jeremy Guidry, Nadia James, Deborah Johnson, Kyle Kenney, Stacey Labit, Renee Oltmann and Ludy Pittman. The Nunez chapter's adviser is Kim Doty.

PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN PROGRAM: Beginning in January, Nunez Community College will offer a new patient care technician certificate program. The certificate of technical studies builds on existing programs for nursing assistants, electrocardiogram technicians and medical office managers, and includes the new phlebotomy program. Online spring registration is open through Jan. 17 at Students in need of advising or registration assistance can contact the Office of Student Affairs at (504) 278-6467 or On-campus registration assistance will be available Jan. 11-14. Nunez is at 3710 Paris Road in Chalmette.

LSU PRESIDENT'S ALUMNI SCHOLARSHIP: Ethan Olsen, a freshman business major from Belle Chasse, is one of 10 recipients of President's Alumni Scholarships at Louisiana State University. The scholarships are awarded to the university’s top 10 entering first-year students. The scholarships include tuition exemption, on-campus room and board and a one-time $2,000 study-abroad stipend. The President’s Alumni Scholars were recognized, along with Flagship Scholars, at the LSU Alumni Association Scholars Banquet in November. Flagship scholarships, awarded to 181 students, include $2,500 per year for Louisiana residents, who can also earn up to $1,500 by working on campus. LSU Flagship Scholars from the New Orleans area are:

  • Belle Chasse: Ethan Gabriel Olsen and Brittany N. Robert
  • Destrehan: Courtland Adam Crouchet
  • Gretna: Sage B. Ducoing and Madison E. French
  • Harahan: Raeghan Nicole Decuir
  • Harvey: Carlo A. Carino
  • Kenner: Jacob Michael Doran, Myeong E. Jung and Matthew Sean Torres
  • Marrero: Lee Edward Davis and Madison Delaney Pierce
  • Metairie: Kyle R. Costanza, Michael Chin-Lai Hom, Han. B. Lee, Harrison H. Millar, Emily L. Munch, Griffin John Pels, Virginia M. Quinian, Edward Tyler Welsch, Brandon M. Wolff and Amelie Jeanne Zimmer
  • New Orleans: Zachary Thomas Baier, Valentino E. Browning, Gray V. Cressy, Sarah Elizabeth Dunn, Chalon Lawrence Fogarty, Michelle Claire Gauchet, Brennan Wesley Gioe, Spencer Gerald Lemoine, Jean-Paul T. Nguyen, Seth M. Pohlmann, Madison R. Schmitt and William Edward Schultz
  • River Ridge: Alisse M. Guerra.

LSU Flagship Scholars from St. Tammany Parish are:

  • Covington: Andrew W. Mercante, Michael V. Swiger, Peter Lyndon Tinker and Dana F. Whittaker
  • Mandeville: Jeffrey C. Champ, Mary Frances Christopher, Monica C. Growden, Brandon Michael Martinez, Thomas M. Naka, Adam K. Ohlmeyer and Daniel Joseph Rockwell
  • Slidell: Samuel O. Howard and Dustin Parker Pearson.

LSU CHEMICAL ENGINEERING: LaPlace native Emily Bergeron has been awarded a $2,500 BASF Team Chemistry Scholarship. Bergeron, a sophomore at LSU, was salutatorian of St. Charles Catholic High School. She works at the LSU Women's Center and is actively involved in her sorority, Kappa Alpha Theta.

COMMUNITY SERVICE: Loyola University New Orleans has been named to the 2015 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, in recognition of students' meaningful engagement in the community. This distinction is the highest federal recognition colleges and universities can receive for community service, service learning, and civic engagement. During the 2014-15 academic year, 578 students registered 14,263 service-learning hours; 53 percent of seniors participated in a service-learning experience during their time at Loyola.

SOUTHEASTERN LOUISIANA UNIVERSITY: Mason Dauphin, of Luling, a student at Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, won two second-place Awards of Distinction in the 2016 national Videographer Awards competition. The awards were for his public service announcement "League of Losers" and for the music video "Spend Your Money," which he created with Jordan Reid, of Luling, and Jeremy Rhodes, of New Orleans. Ben Delbert of Covington won an Award of Distinction for his music video “No Self Control." An honorable mention went to the short film “The Messenger,” produced, directed, and videotaped by Reid, edited by Dauphin and written by Rhodes. Honorable mentions also went to the public service announcements “LOPA,” produced by Dominique Brogle of Destrehan; and “The Trevor Project,” produced by Brittany Robinson of Slidell.

LSU PUBLIC RELATIONS: Metairie native Brooke Chandler was a member of a team from the Public Relations Student Society of America at Louisiana State University that received first place in the National Organ Donor Awareness Competition at the PRSSA national conference in Indianapolis, Indiana. Mandeville natives Rachael Greene, Anna Hoz and Kaitlyn King were also members. The team created the campaign in spring 2016. The student-run public relations firm 225 Communications partnered with Louisiana Organ Procurement Agency to design and execute a semester-long educational campaign for a course in the Manship School of Mass Communication.