The Westbank Quarterback Club honored 32 athletes during its West Bank High School Athlete Banquet on Nov. 15 at the Four Columns. The student-athletes hailed from Archbishop Shaw, Belle Chasse, Edna Karr, Helen Cox, John Ehret, Landry-Walker, South Plaquemines and Thomas Jefferson high schools and Academy of Our Lady. 

Bobby Barbier, baseball coach at Northwestern State University, was the guest speaker. Barbier was a graduate of Archbishop Shaw High School where he played baseball and football. There were over 135 athletes, coaches, sponsors, members, parents and special guest in attendance.

John Dalton Jr., athletic awards chairman for the Westbank Quarterback Club, and John Dalton Sr. presented awards to female athletes in the sports of volleyball and swimming.

Female student-athlete honorees are:


BELLE CHASSE HIGH SCHOOL: Valarie Vujnovich, Nita St. Cyr, Lacey Grafe, Emily Clark and Felicia Barber; their coach is Stephanie Andrews. Coach Latiaya Henderson represented Edna Karr High School.

ACADEMY OF OUR LADY: Emily Eschette, De'Lesha Gaines, Tayla Hunter, Kyce Jackson, Courtney Reed, Hailee Richard, Skyla Rouss and Skyler Turner; their coach is Don Landry.


ACADEMY OF OUR LADY: Megan Russel; her coach is Bob Handley.

Don Wattigny and Jeff Wooten presented awards to male athletes in the sports of football and swimming. 

Male student-athlete honorees are:


THOMAS JEFFERSON HIGH SCHOOL: Owen Martin; his coach is Joan Casseri.


JOHN EHRET HIGH SCHOOL: Terrell Brown and Travis Mumphrey; their coach is Del Lee Collins.

EDNA KARR HIGH SCHOOL: Ahmad Antoine, Sheldon Celestine, Lemar Johns and Skyler Perry; their coach is Torey Dennis.

ARCHBISHOP SHAW HIGH SCHOOL: Brock Davis; his coach is Tommy Connors. 

BELLE CHASSE HIGH SCHOOL: Mathew Barthelemy; his coach is Wesley Mire.


Master of ceremonies was board member Brad Grundmeyer.

The Pledge Of Allegiance was led by Wattigny, and the Invocation was recited by Recording Secretary Berenger Brechtel. Joshua Griffin, of the Louisiana Kids, sang the national anthem and "God Bless America."