Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Three members of Boy Scout Troop 45, sponsored by St. Angela Merici Catholic School in Metairie, were awarded the rank of Eagle Scout during a Court of Honor Sept. 17 at the Msgr. Kern Center in Metairie. Their troopmaster is Joseph Baroni Jr.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Superheroes were the theme of Families Helping Families 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run/Walk Against Bullying, which was held at Lafreniere Park in Metairie on Oct. 1.

The 22nd annual Japan Fest, the largest celebration of Japanese culture in the Gulf South, was held Oct. 8 at the New Orleans Museum of Art, featuring Japanese games, activities, music and food.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

St. Anna's Episcopal Church in New Orleans blesses people every day, but on Oct. 1, it invited people to bring along the pets they cherish for a special blessing ceremony.

Monday, October 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

They were woofing it up Oct. 1 at Laketown Park in Kenner during the Hot Diggity Dog Fest, which featured wiener dog races, a costume contest for dogs, a talent show and a gourmet hot dog contest, along with live music and food.

The kids want a pet, and there is no doubt that owning and caring for a pet would be a rewarding and educational experience for them. Pets can provide hours of companionship, fun and countless opportunities to learn about responsibility.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Saturday, October 08, 2016

A list of area National Merit Scholarship semifinalists failed to include three students from Jesuit High School in New Orleans: Jonathan P. Vegh, Preston T. Warwick and Alexander W. Welsh. The Advocate regrets the error.

Thursday, October 06, 2016
Wednesday, October 05, 2016

Over 400 national and local home-brewed beers were featured at the 7th annual NOLA on Tap Beer Fest, held at City Park on Sept. 24.

Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Wetlands educator Bob Thomas will receive the 2016 Parkway Partners Green Spirit Award at the group's annual jazz brunch fundraiser, this year called Feast With Leah. It will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 9, at Dooky Chase Restaur…

The National African American Male Wellness Walk Initiative came to New Orleans on Sept. 17, in an event that promoted exercise and healthy habits and included screenings for diabetes, blood pressure and HIV. There was fun to be had as well, with …

Harold and Myrtle Lehmann, of Jefferson, recently celebrated their 65th wedding anniversary. They were married Sept. 8, 1951, in New Orleans. They have two sons, three grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. Their son Gary lives in Metairie wit…

Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016