Grand Isle Councilman Stephen “Scooter” Resweber will challenge Mayor David Camardelle for his job in the March 5 election. He is the only candidate standing between Camardelle and a sixth term in office.

Meanwhile, four hopefuls signed up to succeed Police Chief Euris DuBois.

Three candidates — Clifford “Dixie” Santiny, Brian Barthelemy and Leoda Bladsacker — were all automatically elected to the council without opposition as the qualifying period ended Friday.

The five-member council will see two races: David Cantrelle and incumbent Ray Santiny will square off for Seat A, and Kelly “Pete” Besson Jr. and Jay Lafont will compete for Seat B.

Clifford Santiny, a Republican, and Bladsacker, a Democrat, are the incumbents for council seats C and E, respectively. Neither drew opposition.

Barthelemy, a Republican, won Seat D, which will be vacated by Resweber as he runs for mayor.

Camardelle and Resweber are both Democrats. Camardelle won his current term without opposition four years ago. Four years earlier, he won with 77 percent of the vote.

The job of police chief drew four hopefuls: Democrats Frank “Paco” Besson and Norris Esponge Jr., and Republicans Laine Landry Sr. and Irv Magri.

Follow Chad Calder on Twitter @Chad_Calder